Wilson Sporting Goods Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Wilson Sporting Goods
Shop or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for NFL "The Duke" Game Ball

NFL "The Duke" Game Ball

"The Duke", named in honor of football legend Wellington ""Duke"" Mara, is the official game ball of the NFL.  Wilson has been the official game ball of the NFL since 1941.  Hand crafted in Ada, Ohio ""The Duke"" has an exclusive pattern to the NFL using hand picked Wilson Leather and double laces for added texture and control.  Every NFL Game Ball sold in stores is inspected by hand and must pass the same specifications as those used on the field every fall.
Average Customer Rating:
4.4 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(10 Reviews) 10
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 10 reviews
5 stars
5
4 stars
4
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
10 out of 10(100%)reviewers would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for NFL "The Duke" Game Ball
Review 1 for NFL "The Duke" Game Ball
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

A pleasure to finally own...

PostedJuly 2, 2014
Customer Avatar
byAnonymous
Age:35-44
Gender:male
I bought my first Wilson Duke a few weeks ago and just recently got a change to toss it around with family during a recent gathering. In one word - whoa. I was totally surprised at how easy it was to throw tight, consistent spirals. The ball seems to just soar through the air when it leaves your hand. Feels great to catch also. Having this ball makes you want to go play football. I agree that the stitching could be a bit better. Only thing about it I've noticed is that one spot is pressed down slightly because Im always gripping it to try to get my hand stronger when I throw it and to find my sweet spot with this particular ball. This will not be the last one I own.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for NFL "The Duke" Game Ball
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

The best

PostedJanuary 10, 2014
Customer Avatar
byMe
from NY
Age:35-44
Gender:male
This is the best football you'll ever own. It's a throwback to an earlier era. That being said there are design flaws, because this ball is mass produced. The label or stitching may be crooked or lumpy. Other than that it is a peach. Break it in as instructed and only use it on a dry field. It shouldn't get wet or muddy or it will be damaged. Use your composite ball in wet conditions instead. Treat this ball well and you'll get years of enjoyment. This ball is a bit pricey, 80 bucks with tax would be more fair IMO (I paid 95 bucks) but every player should own it at least once in their life.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for NFL "The Duke" Game Ball
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

No comparison

PostedJanuary 3, 2014
Customer Avatar
byNFL fan
from Colorado
Age:25-34
Gender:male
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Always wanted an official NFL ball.....finally got one. There is no comparison/substitute for the real deal. The $100.00 price tag is a hard pill to swallow but I can attest first hand that the investment was well worth it.
Out of the box it is very firm and a bit slick. The solution? get yourself a wilson tac brush, use a damp towel, quickly wipe it down, hit it with the tac brush. Ever notice the game balls you see on tv look very dark and shiny? well get the tac brush and you will have an NFL ball that feels/looks like the ones you always see. It will bleed red/pink for awhile but it's no different than getting a new pair of leather work boots, eventually the bleed will come to a minimum. I rated this ball 4 stars because there are a few very minuscule craftsmanship flaws mostly to do with the stitching but hardly noticeable. I am just super peticular about my footballs especially after spending $100.00 on it. Spend some time looking, do your research, hold a composite ball in one hand, the Duke in the other..........game over, I would be willing to bet you will never ever go back to composite. In closing I will say that you pretty well get what you pay for with the wilson 1100 model and completely understand why it is the ball of the NFL and no other. One more quick, fun fact for you........when you actually play with this ball it feels great, easy to catch, easy to throw........an absolute joy. Cheers!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for NFL "The Duke" Game Ball
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Starting to Question Quality

PostedDecember 8, 2013
Customer Avatar
byAnonymous
Age:18-24
Gender:male
I really love throwing this ball. I've owned three so far and I never want to throw another ball. The first one lasted me 1.5 years of abusive throwing in the yard sometimes hitting the concrete and the tree;it eventually deflated understandably. I bought another one about a month ago. It lasted about a month when one night it was about 15 degrees. I threw it on a turf field for about an hour and as I was leaving it fell out of my hands onto the concrete and popped. I was very disappointed since the last one went through all of that and then some. I exchanged it for another one and I've had that for 10 days. Went to go throw a day ago on the turf and it was 0 degrees. Ran around the track once to warm up, then threw it like 3 times, had an incomplete pass and it popped against the turf. Are these things not meant to be used in cold weather? I can't just not throw for the whole winter, I think I'll die. So what am I supposed to do? This is the best ball but I don't want to basically waste someones $100 every time I exchange it. I'm lucky enough to get another exchange from where I bought it, but wont be throwing this one in the cold.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
4of 6voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Posted March 25, 2014
The NFL uses different football for really cold games
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Posted February 11, 2014
The bladder can be replaced/repaired by Wilson!
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 5 for NFL "The Duke" Game Ball
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best football I've ever used

PostedOctober 20, 2013
Customer Avatar
byAnonymous
from Massachusetts
Age:18-24
Gender:male
It was hard as a rock out of the box, you need to play with it a bit, get it dirty, and break the leather in. Once you break it in though, it will be the best ball you have ever used. It's hard to describe, the ball just flies off your finger tips and the leather has great feel when you catch it. If it goes into a pool or gets otherwise completely drenched, you'll notice red dye rubbing off on your hands so DO NOT use this ball for pool football. Also, when it hits asphalt or brick, the leather gets scuffed up, but it eventually buffs out. Personally I only use it on grass because I want it to be in pristine condition. Worth every penny.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for NFL "The Duke" Game Ball
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

World's Best Football.

PostedJanuary 23, 2012
Customer Avatar
byMrChainBlueLighting
from NorthEast USA
Age:35-44
Gender:male
The Duke is the finest quality football I've ever seen or used.
The college ball is slightly smaller and of similar outstanding quality.
When you handle one of these, throw it or kick it, you'll understand why this is the official ball of the NFL. As good as a football can get.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+7points
9of 11voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for NFL "The Duke" Game Ball
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

PRODUCT HAVE MORE GRIP AND KEEP SHAPE

PostedJanuary 10, 2012
Customer Avatar
byAnonymous
from NORTHEN NEW JERSEY
Age:45-54
Gender:male
NEW NFL FOOTBALL SLIPPERY OUT OF BOX .ALSO GETS OLD FAST AND LOSES ITS SHAPE.BOUGHT MANY NFL BALLS OVER THE YEARS FOR PICK UP GAMES AND WOULD EXPECT A 90 DOLLAR PROFESSIONAL FOOTBALL TO MAINTAIN GRIP AND SHAPE
I would recommend this to a friend!
-18points
3of 24voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for NFL "The Duke" Game Ball
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

So Worth the money!!!

PostedNovember 26, 2011
Customer Avatar
byLeatherhead82
from New England
Age:25-34
Gender:male
This the the best ball I have ever owned period. Weather your just tossing it around the yard with friends and family, or for that pick-up game you find at your local park, you simply can't do better then this!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for NFL "The Duke" Game Ball
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This is the Best Ball

PostedOctober 1, 2011
Customer Avatar
byabqa93
from Springfield, VA
Age:18-24
Gender:male
I knew that when i saw this ball at the store it would be the best choice since it already looks aesthetically the most pleasing. Its not until that you read it is the same exact ball used in the NFL that you really understand how much of a good ball it is. The quality is amazing-constructed of cowhide and hand seamed at the stitch. In fact the whole ball is hand made. I've thrown this ball around so many times and banged it up but it still maintains it's shape, feel, and original quality. The extra pricing is worth it if you want a ball that will last you many years and possibly a lifetime.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
8of 10voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for NFL "The Duke" Game Ball
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Highest Quality Football Available

PostedAugust 3, 2011
Customer Avatar
byJustin C.
from Chicago, IL
Age:25-34
Gender:male
If you buy one ball to use for you and your friends, spend the extra money and buy one of these. I would not use it for street football because it will get scuffed up–strictly grass and turf use. The video of how they make these on the Wilson web site is pretty cool too.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.