Wilson Sporting Goods Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Wilson Sporting Goods
Shop or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for Wilson Staff DUO Golf Balls

Wilson Staff DUO Golf Balls

8 out of 10 golfers who try the Wilson Staff DUO golf ball make the switch for good. It's the softest golf ball on the market at a 40 compression, and it is guaranteed to add distance to your game. After trying the DUO, you will see that the concept is simple: LONG and SOFT.    
Average Customer Rating:
4.511 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(88 Reviews) 88
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 88 reviews
5 stars
68
4 stars
7
3 stars
5
2 stars
6
1 star
2
71 out of 82(87%)reviewers would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for Wilson Staff DUO Golf Balls
Review 41 for Wilson Staff DUO Golf Balls
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Impressive debut

PostedSeptember 3, 2013
Customer Avatar
byJKfromBL
from Regina, SK, Canada
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Look 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Feel 
5 / 5
5 / 5
After reading all the reviews, I decided I had to try the Duo, so I bought a dozen. They feel beautiful off the clubface and the putter. Obviously, not as much spin as premium tour balls, but because of the soft feel, it feels like the control is just the same. Very good ball in the wind, because of the reduced spin off the long clubs. Shot a 3-over par 76 in my first round using one (my HCP index is 7.7). Sold!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 42 for Wilson Staff DUO Golf Balls
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

PostedJuly 12, 2013
Customer Avatar
byREB
from Atlanta Metro
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Look 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Feel 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I am 70 with a 9 Index, I use a top rated driver & I hit the DUO ~260 with long of ~280 yds. The ball is one of the longest & straightest I have found. I used to play Titliest V1x & sometimes still do, but the DUO is the best. It does everything I want around the green also. Regarding the cracking balls reported, I have gone thru 8 or 9 doz and not even a hint of a crack. I don't understand the reports.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 43 for Wilson Staff DUO Golf Balls
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Give this ball try!!!

PostedMarch 31, 2013
Customer Avatar
byBT
from New Jersey
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Look 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Feel 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Started playing the Duo about a month ago. On my second dozen, fantastic ball. I have always played a premium ball but this ball plays a good as any. Long off the tee and chips and putts great. The 40 compression makes it good for slow swing speeds you can really launch the ball. Durability is good, can play one ball for 18 holes and it still looks new. Finally the price is right. Give a dozen a try.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 44 for Wilson Staff DUO Golf Balls
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Product does not last

PostedJanuary 23, 2014
Customer Avatar
byAnonymous
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Look 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Feel 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I am 72 and have used the DUO since the Father and Son in Myrtle Beach in 2012. However I have SPLIT 4 balls at the worst possible time! Warm Weather swing speed no more than 87mph distance 200 210 carry, and may have played 4 or 5 rounds with each ball ( GHIN 16 ) and the ball flys funny and when reached has a crack in the ball not just the cover. And I never get a do over...
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 45 for Wilson Staff DUO Golf Balls
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Low Compression Ball.....

PostedJanuary 17, 2012
Customer Avatar
byDave
from Harrogate,TN
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Look 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Feel 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great ball, the only thing I can say bad about the ball was off the driver I got a little tail to the right(Just a little) I swithed to the fg tour x in the middle of the round and the tailing was gone. Great with the irons and man is this ball soft and I mean SOFT. Great ball for the money and it may do better if the temp. goes up,,, 41 yesterday.... we play year around...
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 46 for Wilson Staff DUO Golf Balls
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best ball ever.

PostedApril 27, 2013
Customer Avatar
byformicburn
from Wisconsin
Age:25-34
Gender:male
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Look 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Feel 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Delivers on the distance, but even more around the greens. I can't believe how this ball feels around the green. Putting is GREAT. I actually can't wait to putt now. It's soft and solid, no clicks or tings. Chipping felt like i was cutting through butter. Excellent ball, and I'm no longer experimenting with other balls. I hope this ball stays the same for years to come.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 47 for Wilson Staff DUO Golf Balls
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Balls split in two

PostedOctober 31, 2012
Customer Avatar
byOLD GUY
from Ca.
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Durability 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Look 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Feel 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I purchased two dozen of the Duo's, one from a golg retailer and another from a discount store. One ball out of each dozen split in two with normal use. The remaining balls performed properly with no visable defects. The balls split both times after a normal shot and took dramatic left turns and ended up out of bounds. Too much of a risk to use during tournament play.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 48 for Wilson Staff DUO Golf Balls
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

What's with the cracking??

PostedApril 16, 2013
Customer Avatar
byflgolfer45
from Beverly Hills, FL
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Durability 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Look 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Feel 
4 / 5
4 / 5
User submitted photo
Within the past 2 weeks I have now cracked my 3rd Wilson Staff ball. First it was a Zip, then the Elite 50 and now a DUO. While I like the feel and playability of these balls they are not worth using if you are going to experience this level of bad performance.
I have been playing for a long time and in over 40 years have only had 2 other balls crack during play.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 49 for Wilson Staff DUO Golf Balls
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent value

PostedFebruary 26, 2013
Customer Avatar
bySatisfied Customer
from Savannah, GA
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Look 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Feel 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I played a round this past weekend with the Wilson Staff Duo and was very pleased. the feel off the club face was similar to the ball I usually play, the Titlest NXT Tour. The Wilson seems to jump off the clup face and definitly carries farther than the Titlest. The Wilson also seems to spin better around the greens on short shots. Great product at a great price.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 50 for Wilson Staff DUO Golf Balls
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Longest ball I have ever hit

PostedJune 1, 2013
Customer Avatar
byDenmar
from Creston, British Columbia , Canada
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Durability 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Look 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Feel 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Love the feel, and is stupid long, only problem is after about 12 holes my first one cracked. I am 62 years old with a handicap of 8. I do not think a golf ball manufactured to today's standards should break like that. I have broken three of them already, bought two dozen and now afraid to use them anymore. Hope wilson staff will do something about this problem.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 51 for Wilson Staff DUO Golf Balls
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

soft and long

PostedJuly 16, 2013
Customer Avatar
byFrisco golfer
from Lakewood, Washington
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Look 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Feel 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I'm a senior golfer with a current index of 6.8. Our opening hole is 480yards slight dog-leg. Monday it was a drive and 3 hybrid for a birdie. The Wison DUO is just right for me. I love the soft feel off all clubs including the putter. The ball is as long as anything else I have player and the soft feel off the club head is great for me.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 52 for Wilson Staff DUO Golf Balls
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Terrible ball 9 of twelve split on shots

PostedFebruary 9, 2013
Customer Avatar
bybuddha
from Woodland california
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Durability 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Look 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Feel 
2 / 5
2 / 5
I bought a dozen of these balls to try for cool weather. I had 9 of the 12 split. One ball split on the second shot and the weather wasn't even cold it was 65 degrees. The sad thing is my wife saw the balls I had bought and got me a dozen logoed ones now what do I do. I won't play them unless i am with her . This ball was terible.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 53 for Wilson Staff DUO Golf Balls
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

The Duo gives me 10+ more yards off the tee and with less deviation from center.

PostedMay 20, 2012
Customer Avatar
byJake2
from Charlotte, NC
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Look 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Feel 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I played the Srixon Qstar and Maxfli HTtour hitting less balls in play than the Duo off the tee. I improved my approach shots by one less club and a better lie...that's playing golf. At 55 years old a consistant 250 yards beats 235 any day of the week. The soft feel and less spin has not hurt my short game - putting has improved.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 54 for Wilson Staff DUO Golf Balls
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

PostedJanuary 28, 2013
Customer Avatar
bySilky
from Va
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Look 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Feel 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I played the DUO ball all 2012 golf season. It was everything it was promoted to be. Excellent feel and distance. Also noted was the consistency of one ball to the next (meaning you can depend on the performance of each ball to be equal). Our group is playing tomorrow, I'll be teeing my Wilson DUO. I'm sure I not the only one.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 55 for Wilson Staff DUO Golf Balls
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Three of the balls cracked. Not a reliable ball.

PostedMarch 24, 2013
Customer Avatar
byJoseinatl
from Atlanta, GA
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Look 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Feel 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This ball is definitely long and surprisingly soft around the greens. However, off the tee I cracked two balls and end up with bogey and a double bogey. I've been playing golf for ten year and have never seen a ball do that. This ball is not reliable. I hope Wilson fix this problem because other wise the ball is great.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 56 for Wilson Staff DUO Golf Balls
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Amazing golf ball!

PostedJanuary 16, 2013
Customer Avatar
byMike
from Fairfax, Virginia
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Look 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Feel 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Was a loyal Pro V1 user for years until I tried a sample box of Wilson Staff Duo's. WOW! As one gets older you start looking to fill the distance void. Much longer than my Pro V1's and better in all regards. I've officially switched to the Duo's. Best ball I've ever played and at a great price point too.
Mike.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 57 for Wilson Staff DUO Golf Balls
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent Low Compression Ball

PostedJanuary 2, 2012
Customer Avatar
byAnonymous
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Look 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Feel 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I bought a dozen of the Duo ball at TGW and played them this weekend and the ball is just plan great. I picked up 5-10 yards off the tee and approach shots stop on a dime. The ball rolls very well off the putter face and the feel is second to none. i would recommend these balls to anyone. Thanks Wilson.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
3of 6voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (3)
Comments (3)
Customer Avatar
webber
az
good for blades
Posted February 15, 2013
I tried a sleeve after reading some reviews and i must say it lives up to the hype. Long and strait and very soft. I have found that the ball goes a little farther on chips and pitches and took a little bit to get used too but it makes up for it with soft feel off the putter. I am a traditionalist and play mac muirfield's and cleveland persimmon woods and this is as close to a balata feel as you can get in modern balls and boy does it go when i do play the titanium clubs. Great overall ball
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Customer Avatar
Brian
nortwest Pa.
Very Surprised
Posted December 14, 2012
I lost my my nxt tour and found a duo , couldn't believe the distance without the effort.i have an average swing speed of around 90 mph this ball matches up for me perfectly please try for yourself...
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Customer Avatar
Golf for u
Roswell Ga.
Wilson Staff Duo Golf Ball
Posted July 21, 2012
WOW what a golf ball!!!
I hit this ball 20 yards farther!
I used to hit 230 now 250 yards. I have shaved 6 strokes of my handicap!
PLEASE DO NOT STOP MAKING THIS BALL!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Wilson has done it again!!
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (3)
Read Comments (3)
Review 58 for Wilson Staff DUO Golf Balls
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

No 'hit' feeling that I get with Pro V's. Soft and long is so true.

PostedNovember 6, 2012
Customer Avatar
bydoc
from Burlington, Ontario, Canada
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Look 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Feel 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I love the connected feeling on all types of shots and off all clubs, especially the putter. The sound and feel are so soft and I am getting more distance than with more premium priced balls.
I have searched a long time for a ball soft enough for my old blades and have finally found it.
Thanks.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 59 for Wilson Staff DUO Golf Balls
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

my new choice of golf balls

PostedAugust 8, 2012
Customer Avatar
bypaul
from myrtle beach sc
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Look 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Feel 
5 / 5
5 / 5
i,m a 10 handicap and my friend turned me on to the wilson duo..best ball i ever used..ball just takes off when contact is made..great flight and lots of control hitting into pin..ball checks up nice.had my first hole in one on 07/28/12 using this ball..good by to pro v,s..thx for duo..
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 60 for Wilson Staff DUO Golf Balls
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

My New Ball

PostedJuly 7, 2012
Customer Avatar
byCowboy42
from Oklahoma USA
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Look 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Feel 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The Wilson Staff Duo is the BEST ball that I have ever played. I have played all the big name balls and the Duo outperforms all of them.
Super Long, Super Super Soft, Excellent Control...........
Wilson You have a Winner with the Duo.....Please don't ever stop making this ball.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
<<prev 1 2 3 4 5 next>>