Wilson Sporting Goods Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Wilson Sporting Goods
Shop or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for Wilson Staff DUO Golf Balls

Wilson Staff DUO Golf Balls

8 out of 10 golfers who try the Wilson Staff DUO golf ball make the switch for good. It's the softest golf ball on the market at a 40 compression, and it is guaranteed to add distance to your game. After trying the DUO, you will see that the concept is simple: LONG and SOFT.    
Average Customer Rating:
4.511 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(88 Reviews) 88
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 88 reviews
5 stars
68
4 stars
7
3 stars
5
2 stars
6
1 star
2
71 out of 82(87%)reviewers would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for Wilson Staff DUO Golf Balls
Review 1 for Wilson Staff DUO Golf Balls
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great all around feel, but too many balls crack!

PostedFebruary 13, 2014
Customer Avatar
byGrinder
from Southwest British Columbia, Canada
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Look 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Feel 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I bought a dozen Duos based on the tv commercial. Soft feel and extra distance is exactly what I've been looking for for the longest time. However, I'm not sure I can recommend this ball to others. I too have experienced cracking of the balls and I find this very frustrating. When I play the ball...driver, irons or putter...I am bowled over by the great feel and improved distance. But, when three of the first six balls I play are cracked after fewer than 36 holes, I don't think I want to play a ball with that poor a performance. I see quite a few others have had the same cracking experience as I. I share their question to Wilson; "What are you doing to fix the problem?" My question is; "If you increased the compression slightly, might that fix, or at least, reduce the cracking problem?" Hopefully a slight compression increase wouldn't hurt the distance or feel qualities of the ball. I really hope you can fix the cracking. If you can, I'll be a loyal supporter of this ball.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
PDM1
South Carolina
Cracked??
Posted February 18, 2014
I have been playing these balls since they became available and have yet to find one to crack. They aare longer and feel better than any ball I have played.
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 2 for Wilson Staff DUO Golf Balls
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best Round Ever !

PostedFebruary 2, 2014
Customer Avatar
byALS
from Rock Hill, SC
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Look 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Feel 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I tried the Duo ball for the first time yesterday and shot my lowest score ever ! I'm a 16 handicap and had never shot better than 84, yesterday I shot an 82 and left three makeable pars on the greens. I didn't notice any distance on my irons but I did on my drives. I normally hit 220-225 yd drives with an 80-90 compression ball but hit the Duo 230-240 yds. The biggest thing was control, my chipping around the green was much improved because of the soft feel. I can't wait to get back out there to see if I can duplicate this !
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Wilson Staff DUO Golf Balls
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Product does not last

PostedJanuary 23, 2014
Customer Avatar
byAnonymous
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Look 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Feel 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I am 72 and have used the DUO since the Father and Son in Myrtle Beach in 2012. However I have SPLIT 4 balls at the worst possible time! Warm Weather swing speed no more than 87mph distance 200 210 carry, and may have played 4 or 5 rounds with each ball ( GHIN 16 ) and the ball flys funny and when reached has a crack in the ball not just the cover. And I never get a do over...
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Wilson Staff DUO Golf Balls
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

My ball broke

PostedJanuary 13, 2014
Customer Avatar
bytrhattan
from Chicago area
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Durability 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Look 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Feel 
5 / 5
5 / 5
User submitted photo
I bought a dozen of these after playing one that I found and liked. The ball performs well, especially in colder weather. Today, playing in 75 degree Florida, I hit the ball with my driver. The ball went about 100 yards and then took a hard left turn. It went 140 yards overall. Then I saw the problem: The ball had a jagged crack that went about 1/2 way around the ball. I'm 67 and normally hit my driver about 200 yards, so I definitely did not hit it too hard.
Other than this strange occurrence, I like the ball.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
DUO
Posted February 24, 2014
My first dozen had the cracking problem. The replacements (Wilson sent free of charge) have had no cracking. The ball is amazing and I appreciate the quick and appropriate response when I had issues with the original ones. Thanks.
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 5 for Wilson Staff DUO Golf Balls
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good ball, Great price

PostedJanuary 12, 2014
Customer Avatar
byAnonymous
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Durability 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Look 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Feel 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I've been playing Srixon Z-Star SL golf balls since I started. I received a FREE trial sleeve of Wilson Duo golf balls and I've been playing them ever since. The Duo gives me more yardage and I didn't sacrifice any feel on the green. Good ball for a great price!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Wilson Staff DUO Golf Balls
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

great ball great price!

PostedDecember 4, 2013
Customer Avatar
byinzen
from sacramento, Ca
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Look 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Feel 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I found a Wilson Duo I noticed immediately how soft it felt even off the putter face , was VERY surprised to notice I hit ALL clubs the same distance as the pro v1x's I'v played for years- if you played the game when Balata balls first came out and how DIFFERENT they felt compared to other balls at that time you'll understand, only Balata's would NEVER fly as far as these Wilson DUO's..pleasantly surprised at performance and price, I have found a new ball. Gerald index 12. (probably helped that the nine holes I played after finding that first Duo I shot even par!)
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Wilson Staff DUO Golf Balls
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Long & Soft . Value for Money. Yes it is!

PostedNovember 13, 2013
Customer Avatar
bySuhymee
from Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Look 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Feel 
5 / 5
5 / 5
After I could not find new supply of the W/S DX3 I played the Pro V1x for a short while. Then I tried the Duo and the balance two tubes of the Pro V1x are in the cupboard. Three dozens of the Duo are in my hand at all time.
I hit longer and more accurate with the Duo compared to the Pro V1x. It just respond very well with every hit from my FG Tour irons.
Play it high or low, draw or fade, hard or soft, the Duo do what you want. On the green I seldom holed out with more than two putts.
It has few scars after 18 holes if you hit them hard but nothing serious that will spoil you putts.
Very good ball that cost much less.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Wilson Staff DUO Golf Balls
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

10 handicaper great ball

PostedOctober 24, 2013
Customer Avatar
byAnonymous
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Look 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Feel 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I got a free sleeve of these balls in MB on a golf trip from a par 3 promo to support veterans. That was a win already, but the ball, wow! I tried the ball, and man was I surprised! Especially when I brought it back home to my home course. Was easy 10-15 yards in front of any other ball I've used. And the feel was great as well, and got plenty of stopage on the greens even out of the rough. At the price point, you won't find a better performing ball, Good Job Wilson and give it a try.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Wilson Staff DUO Golf Balls
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Unbelievably Great Ball

PostedOctober 17, 2013
Customer Avatar
byFearless
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Look 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Feel 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I am 70 yrs old and trying to lower my 17 handicap. With Fall weather arriving, and balls lost in the leaves, I asked for a recommendation of a ball good for slower swing speeds, but with distance and good feel. DUO was recommended. I am now using it insteadof my Bridgestone 330RX, and I will not go back. This ball has added distance to my shots and has all the control and feel I need to play well. Terrific ball.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Wilson Staff DUO Golf Balls
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Just Dumb Luck

PostedOctober 6, 2013
Customer Avatar
byScottyCUSA
from Sunbury, Ohio
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Durability 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Look 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Feel 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Found a DUO in the rough, obviously blindly abandoned. It was like new, so I thought I'd hit it on the next hole. Played the next 14 holes with it and it felt great. The next time I went to the store to resupply my NXT Tours, I saw the DUO and loved the price. What the heck, I'll give them a longer "test". Just love the feel, around and on the greens. And it jumps off the club very nicely. FYI, I'm a 7 index. Better players should try this ball...
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Wilson Staff DUO Golf Balls
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

5's Across The Board

PostedOctober 3, 2013
Customer Avatar
byCanadianBacon
from Niagara Falls, ON
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Look 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Feel 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The DUO. Where to start? I am finishing my third-year as a golf professional. I play on Mini-Tours in Canada and the U.S. The first time I dabbled with the DUO was at the end of 2012. I was really impressed with the ball.
First of all the durability is fantastic.. I have not had a problem with the cover. Yes after 18 holes I'll find a little blemish but not one that affects playability. The distance is fantastic and I have noticed a difference over other balls. I have tested several models including Lethal, 20XI, HEX Tour Black, Chrome, Srixon (several models) and of course Pro V. The DUO is every bit as good as the barometer which people seem to think is Pro V. I had stop and drop control with this ball and I was shocked to find out it is a 2-piece. I should note that I am a high spin player. The DUO feels great off of the irons, and driver. Putting with this ball is a dream. Has the perfect feel (in my opinion) with a non-insert putter. Furthermore the affordability is unreal. This ball in my opinion is the best bang for the buck in all of golf. My coach agrees with me as he is impressed with it and plays it.
This ball in 2014 will likely be my gamer. I am intrigued by the FG Tour as well with its 75 compression. As far as Wilson Staff balls go my fave was always the Px3... no longer the case. DUO is the real deal.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
larry
TN
Get past the name and just use it!
Posted October 30, 2013
Age: 67, Handicap: 8. I'm the type who's perpetually looking for the "perfect" ball...but I think my search is over! Though I only noticed a few yards more off my SLDR driver, I REALLY like it off my irons and especially around the green. I play forged irons and I can barely feel the ball come off the club face...or off the putter. Unbelievable improvement to my short game. Get...this...ball!
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 12 for Wilson Staff DUO Golf Balls
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Just started using this ball.

PostedSeptember 14, 2013
Customer Avatar
byRon
from Union, WA
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Durability 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Look 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Feel 
4 / 5
4 / 5
So far, I like the feel and distance of the ball. I am a mid to high handicapper who has been using your Elite 50 for the past year. I did get a hole-in-one with the DUO at Aspen Lakes in Sisters, Oregon on 9-12-2013. It was a 89 yard par 3, made with a gap wedge.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Wilson Staff DUO Golf Balls
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Impressive debut

PostedSeptember 3, 2013
Customer Avatar
byJKfromBL
from Regina, SK, Canada
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Look 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Feel 
5 / 5
5 / 5
After reading all the reviews, I decided I had to try the Duo, so I bought a dozen. They feel beautiful off the clubface and the putter. Obviously, not as much spin as premium tour balls, but because of the soft feel, it feels like the control is just the same. Very good ball in the wind, because of the reduced spin off the long clubs. Shot a 3-over par 76 in my first round using one (my HCP index is 7.7). Sold!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Wilson Staff DUO Golf Balls
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

soft yet lively

PostedSeptember 1, 2013
Customer Avatar
byplayedthemall
from seattle
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Look 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Feel 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This ball seems to really jump off the face of all my clubs and is as long as any of the more expensive balls. It putts very much like the old balatta balls but is much more durable. I haven't had any problems with it cracking but I don't have a 110 swing speed either. I think this ball is made for the slower swing speed player.
I live on a golf course and actually would never need to purchase another golf ball for the rest of my life as they fall into my yard all of the time . But after trying the duo for the first time, I'm hooked. All I need now is for more people to play the duo so I can go back to freebies!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Wilson Staff DUO Golf Balls
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

just feels right

PostedAugust 27, 2013
Customer Avatar
byhjw
from anaheim, ca
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Look 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Feel 
5 / 5
5 / 5
15 hanhdicap , longer and better then pro v 1 willbuy another dozen tomorrow. Great ball in all aspects.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Wilson Staff DUO Golf Balls
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent golf ball

PostedAugust 15, 2013
Customer Avatar
byTryingtoshootmyage
from Beaufort SC
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Look 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Feel 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This is one of the best golf balls that I have ever played and a real bargain. I don't know about the durability yet, but so far I haven't cut a cover. Please don't change the formula - this ball could reestablish Wilson as a major player in golf. I began playing Wilson irons when I first started a lifetime ago. But alas, it seems that you didn't stay in touch with the modern game. I would love to see you become a force again. I might even consider using your irons.
Best wishes from an old fan.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Wilson Staff DUO Golf Balls
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

great distance. awesome feel

PostedAugust 4, 2013
Customer Avatar
byRyan
from Wharton TX, Bay City, TX
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Look 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Feel 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Love this ball duo. I was playing bridgestone e6, but it was too straight. Took the switch to duo and so glad that I did. Awesome feel and distance, and I can work the ball. Duo checks up on green nice with only a foot to 18 inch roll out with short irons, and hops and stops with wedge. It runs forever with driver or three wood on fairways. First round I shot 88, next day I shot 82 ( best round ever)only using one duo ball for both days. Normally shoot high 80's to low 90's losing a couple balls along the way. The wilson duo is best ball I have played. Tried 2013 prov1 and nxt tour s, srixon q star, tm supedeep and and many other balls, always went back too bridgestone e6 but I have found my new ball and it's called the wilson staff duo.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Wilson Staff DUO Golf Balls
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very Long of the Tee and feels great with the putter

PostedJuly 30, 2013
Customer Avatar
byHappy Camper
from Edmonton, Alberta
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Keep making this ball!!! I am a mid to low handicapper who has been playing Taylor-made Pentas for a couple of years. On the recommendation of a staff member at my local golf store I bought the Duo's and will never go back! They are very long of the tee, stop nicely on the greens and roll great off the putter. However, the best thing about these balls is how they feel off each club. I have a swing speed over 100mph and the Duo feels like it "trampolines" off my driver. It's even better once you reach the green, with a great feel off the putter - so good that, for some reason, I've gone from taking 32-34 putts per round to 26-28!!! They say feel is everything and with the Duo it is!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Wilson Staff DUO Golf Balls
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

I was surprised

PostedJuly 24, 2013
Customer Avatar
byKC Mike
from Kansas City
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Look 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Feel 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I used the Duo's as a trial, but now I have become an advocate and and an evangelist for them. Ive gotten several of my buddies have tried and switched.
Good work on developing this product.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Wilson Staff DUO Golf Balls
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

outstanding product: good-bye expensive balls

PostedJuly 19, 2013
Customer Avatar
byborn2fish,luv2golf
from Syracuse, NY
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Look 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Feel 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I am 12 handicap and have been playing the Taylor Made TP-3 and the
TP-5 Pentas. These are outstanding golf balls! After reading reviews on the WS Duo, I decided to try them out, as I usually only play once a week, and was spending too much on golf balls. Needless to say the Duo is now my ball of choice and staying in my bag. First nine holes 2 over, second nine 3 over. Best round yet. They are long and they stick....PERIOD.
By the way, I'm 71......
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 4 5 next>>