Wilson Sporting Goods Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Wilson Sporting Goods
Shop or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for Wilson Staff FG Tour V2 Irons

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Wilson Sporting Goods.

Wilson Staff FG Tour V2 Irons

With minimal offset and a clean, classic look at address, this cavity-back forging was an immediate success on tour. The FG Tour V2 irons are designed for the Feel (F) player valuing precision and shot-shaping ability.
Average Customer Rating:
4.943 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(35 Reviews) 35
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 35 reviews
5 stars
33
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
33 out of 33(100%)reviewers would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for Wilson Staff FG Tour V2 Irons
Review 1 for Wilson Staff FG Tour V2 Irons
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great irons!!

PostedAugust 18, 2014
Customer Avatar
byAnonymous
from Youngstown, Ohio
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quite possibly the best irons I've ever used. Great feel and feedback and excellent workmanship. I've used a lot of different irons over the years and was always looking for a set that had "it". These clubs have it and more.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Read Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
scottyboy
glasgow
fg v2 irons
Posted October 20, 2014
these irons are simply the best irons I have owned.iv had pings ap2s mizunos but these babies are just the complete iron, super feeling and with the kbs shafts its the perfect match , a few of my golfing pals have tried my irons from time to time and are amazed with them. Try these for yourself and im sure you will find a space for them in your bag
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 2 for Wilson Staff FG Tour V2 Irons
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Just try them and make up your own mind

PostedJuly 26, 2014
Customer Avatar
byMike
from Baton Rouge, La
Age:45-54
Gender:male
I have played the FG V2's for a year and a half now. I am a 7 handicap and have previously played Hogan Edge amd MacGregor M685s. I hit every major brand players iron available and consider this the best club of all I tested. I stress to all my golfing friends that I dont believe in brand loyalty when I go to purchase a product; I want the best performing product that I have tested and verified, and one that works for me. These Staff irons won that contest for me. Very smooth feel with the feedback you want in a forged iron. Good forgiveness from the perimeter weighting. They were at least as long as most I tested, including some other brands that simply decrease the loft on their irons and call them longer. I absolutely love the KBS shafts, they make a clear difference in performance. How anyone could hit the V2 and the Titleist AP2 and not choose this club is beyond me, other than wanting to impress people they are playing with that they spent a lot more money. I always stress that you should be fitted by a good clubfitter when buying any club and these are no different. Last word - the other big name club makers spend tens of million on buying players to sell their clubs. And that results in $1000+ price tags. Try these and enjoy the savings on a great club!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Wilson Staff FG Tour V2 Irons
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

The Best Ever

PostedJanuary 13, 2014
Customer Avatar
byRick
from Savannah,Tn
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Look 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Feel 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I'm 64 yrs old playing the V2 irons 3 thru pw with the KBS stiff shafts.
These are without a doubt the best irons I have ever had. The feel is just like butter .The sound is a powerful smack that gives you confidence. They are accurate with workability that's outstanding with distance that is unmatched.
The looks are true irons powerful but slick. They have a raiders look that I love .The finish is first class.!!!!!!! I plan on buying another set next month. Tax Money !
I have played TM R9,AdamsCB2,Mizuno,Cobra. "Stick a Staff" you won't be sorry!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Wilson Staff FG Tour V2 Irons
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Amazing clubs, best I've ever used!

PostedNovember 15, 2013
Customer Avatar
byEdd c
from Newcastle upon Tyne
Age:25-34
Gender:male
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Look 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Feel 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Bought these at start of the season and can't believe how much better they feel than any other clubs I've used!
Great feedback on off centre hits know exactly what your doing wrong and when you hit it right the feeling is unbeatable!
My game has improved hugely from getting these irons and looking forward to it getting better still!
Think il look to wilson staff for my next set of irons in a few years!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Wilson Staff FG Tour V2 Irons
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Fantastic Irons

PostedOctober 13, 2013
Customer Avatar
byRuben
from San Antonio, Texas
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Look 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Feel 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I play to a 7, and just switched from game improvement irons to the Wilson FG tours with the stiff shafts... incredible irons. Great feel and distance, and laser accurate with a solid swing. I'm extremely happy I made the switch. Long irons are loooong with a low boring ball flight.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Read Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
JG-GOLFER
BRIDGMAN, MICH.
FG TOUR V2 IRONS
Posted April 29, 2014
I WILL SOON BE 65 AND CARRY A 6 HDCP. PUT THESE IN MY BAG THIS YEAR, FINALLY SWITCHED FROM MY TITLEIST DCI'S AFTER ABOUT 15 YRS.........GREAT MOVE! LUV THESE CLUBS.......WOULD HIGHLY RECOMMEND TRYING THESE OUT.........
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 6 for Wilson Staff FG Tour V2 Irons
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Never Look Back

PostedOctober 9, 2013
Customer Avatar
bySuhymee
from Malaysia
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Look 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Feel 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Very easy set of blades to get the ball up in the air. High trajectory with the custom NS Pro 950GH & Lamkin Crossline combo. A beauty at address. Slim top line. Minute offset. My favorite shining chrome finish which is easy to polish. Smooth like butter at impact.
No second thoughts after hitting the 7i at a pro shop driving
range. Bought the set and then did the fitting. It was not the other way around.
I would recommend this to a friend!
-3points
0of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Wilson Staff FG Tour V2 Irons
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

These are great irons!

PostedAugust 14, 2013
Customer Avatar
bybeakyou
from Kalamazoo, MI
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Look 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Feel 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Owned several sets of Staff irons until Wilson receded somewhat. Ordered the FG V2s last fall with the FST SS105 stepless steel shaft and all I can say is WOW! Center hits produce that 'squish' sound and feel. The cavity back design saves a lot of off-center hits. The bonus is that these look like irons should look - very clean, nice top line and the size is perfect. My friends who hit them on the range are a bit stunned by the way these clubs feel and perform. I am not a scratch player, and these irons really work for me.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Wilson Staff FG Tour V2 Irons
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

outstanding

PostedJuly 19, 2013
Customer Avatar
bywakacrill
from liverpool
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Look 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Feel 
5 / 5
5 / 5
this is my second set of Wilson Irons and by far my best ever clubs I have now purchased the 3 Iron (which I missed when using hybrids) and the 56 degree Wedge they have a nice feel and look outstanding as for direction they are true and forgiving even for high handicapper like me i would even go as far as to say THE ONLY CLUB YOU'LL EVER NEED. Thank you Wilson
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Wilson Staff FG Tour V2 Irons
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

overall balance

PostedJune 29, 2013
Customer Avatar
byGolfaholic
from Melbourne, Victoria (Aust)
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Look 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Feel 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Forgetting the fantastic pricepoint value. The fg v2 forged irons are just so smooth and well balanced, not to mention just sooo good to look at and the feel of these irons is to die for. Once I had my set custom fit I have not shot over 75(currently play of 8). Welcome back Wilson Staff, I wish that I had found them sooner, needless to say that my old irons went straight out the window.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Wilson Staff FG Tour V2 Irons
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome feel

PostedJune 18, 2013
Customer Avatar
byCrusty
from Canada
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Look 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Feel 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I had the Wilson Staff PI5's and they were great. I tried the V2's at a golf show and I feel in love. I ordered them last fall with the Project X 5.5 shafts and it was a great investment for my golf game. The ball just flies off the club. I suggest to try them out, you will order them that day.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Wilson Staff FG Tour V2 Irons
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

PostedMay 18, 2013
Customer Avatar
byMike D
from Cleveland, OH
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Look 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Feel 
5 / 5
5 / 5
These are by far the easiest to hit irons I've ever tried! I was in the market for a new set of irons for a number of years and tried many of the most popular makes and models, both game improvement and players irons, and luckily I came across these at a recent demo day and have put them in the bag.
My recommendation to anyone considering these or quite frankly any other "player" type iron is to not buy into the notion that the golf mags and manufacturers put out there that if you are not scratch, you shouldn't even look at them. That's simply not true. These irons outperform any of the ones that I've tried on both flush and mishits, plus they are way more pleasing to look at.
I hope Wilson can kick up their marketing strategies to get these products out there and competing head to head with the big brands.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Wilson Staff FG Tour V2 Irons
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent Value for Money! Beautiful! Solid!

PostedApril 16, 2013
Customer Avatar
byNoFearPutting
from New England
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Look 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Feel 
5 / 5
5 / 5
As a middle handicap player, I've never liked the feel of the modern perimeter weighted cavity back designs. In my hands, the weight just felt distributed too far away from the desired impact zone on the clubface.
I learned to play on a set of 1960's era Wilson blades. I don't have a great swing, but it is short and compact with good tempo and I keep the clubface square at impact and hit a straight, high, though not long ball.
When shopping for new irons this year, I was in trying to select a club that had the classic blade feel, weighting and club head size, while trying to avoid what for me are "clunky feeling" cavity backed clubs designed for high handicappers with poor swings.
The Wilson Staff FG Tour V2 fits all my needs perfectly, a hybrid between the classic blade and the modern cavity back. The clubheads are smaller that the old cavity backs I've been using for the last 14 years, and for me, that it a desirable feature.
The FG Tour V2 irons are visually stunning works of functional art. Polished black and silver lettering on top of beautifully milled and polished irons. After comparing looks, performance, quality and price of the Wilson Staff FG Tour V2 irons versus similar offerings from the other major name brands, the V2 wins by a mile. My final choices were the Titlelist AP2 and the V2.
I got the V2's for several hundred dollars less than the AP2, so definitely excellent value for money. After the first two trips to the range this week, I know these irons give all the performance I expected and then some. Slightly off center hits are somewhat unforgiving, but not nearly as much as I expected. Flushed sweet spot hits exit the clubface with a feel, sound and trajectory that I've never experienced before. The only down side was a few minor cosmetic nicks from the machining and polishing, but I can live with that.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Wilson Staff FG Tour V2 Irons
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best Players Cavity Back out there?

PostedApril 3, 2013
Customer Avatar
bydj7674
from Oregon
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Look 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Feel 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Been playing the CI series of clubs (CI7 and CI11) which are really, really good. I my ball striking has improved and my handicap has went down, decided to give them a try. I was very unsure if I wanted to lose the forgiveness of the CI11 and was really surprise at how easy they are to hit. Head is smaller for sure, but I was really surprise at their forgiveness. Feel is incredible, extremely workable, easy to hit, stock shaft is awesome. Also surprising distance considering the lofts are much weaker than the CI11. Finally, don't automatically assume you won't want to hit the long irons. I normally opt for hybrid 3-5 and I was hitting the 4 and 5 with ease and am now going to stick the 3 iron in. Should have tried this when they first came out.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Wilson Staff FG Tour V2 Irons
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best irons I have played

PostedMarch 1, 2013
Customer Avatar
byJoe
from MN
Age:18-24
Gender:male
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Look 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Feel 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I was set on pulling the trigger on some Titleist AP2 irons when I went to my local golf shop and Wilson was luckily there and I demoed these irons (which I knew nothing about) and was immediately sold because I have not struck a low handicap iron that has as much forgiveness and feel as these irons. Needless to say I got fitted and placed an order that day and have been in love ever since. I would rival these irons with any brand in the game today and I have even got friends to order after playing my clubs. I think these clubs can get Wilson back to their dominance in golf gear because if you play them you will love them!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Wilson Staff FG Tour V2 Irons
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Traditional looking sweet irons.

PostedFebruary 19, 2013
Customer Avatar
byJAP
from Gulf Breeze, Florida
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Look 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Feel 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I love the looks, performance, and feel of these irons! When you catch them on the sweet spot they are soft and smooth as butter. The trajectory is medium high. I have the KBS Tour stiff shafts and they are very smooth and feel great, the ball really comes off the club face nicely. The Lamkin Crossline grips have long been a favorite of mine as well, good feel and tack in all conditions. If you hit these irons you will feel the quality, good job Wilson Staff on the FG V2's!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Wilson Staff FG Tour V2 Irons
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love these irons

PostedJanuary 25, 2013
Customer Avatar
byrtksjones
from Montgomery, AL
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Look 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Feel 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Wilson has once again outdone themselves with these irons. I wanted an iron that was a little forgiving but still workable. My first day out I needed to hit a cut shot around a dogleg because I drove the ball down the right side. I set up and executed the shot as expected; the ball cut around the dogleg and landed on the green. These irons feel great just like you would expect from a forged iron. I can't say enough about these irons.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Wilson Staff FG Tour V2 Irons
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

most beautiful iron out there

PostedJanuary 22, 2013
Customer Avatar
byElSingleDig
from Upstate, SC
Age:25-34
Gender:male
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Look 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Feel 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Killer look with outstanding feel and workability. Way more forgiving than expected and perfectly matched with the KBS shafts. Not just the best forged irons for the money but the best on the market, period, being a good deal only adds to the greatness.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Wilson Staff FG Tour V2 Irons
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

solid sticks from wedge to long irons A+

PostedJanuary 14, 2013
Customer Avatar
byDaddyLooong
from Tri-Cities, TN
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Look 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Feel 
4 / 5
4 / 5
just finished my 6th round with irons yesterday. Like them more every time I play with them. Easy long irons, awesome 200 - 215 all day long with the 3 iron, I am a club longer with these than any other club I have played. KBS Tour shafts are excellent in these heads. Club still has good weight to it and the grips are excellent also. Always had been a GolfPride tour velvet guy the Lamkins are sweet. Believe these irons will be in the bag for a very long time!!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Wilson Staff FG Tour V2 Irons
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best looking irons i have ever played

PostedDecember 12, 2012
Customer Avatar
byspudsley
from Gawler East, SA, Australia
Age:25-34
Gender:male
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Look 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Feel 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Can not believe the ball flight out of these things, punches through the air with great flight and the soft feel even on a miss hit is unbelievable. I reckon they look better than any other club on the market or has been. they look so sleek and sexy, Im gonna sleep with them.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Wilson Staff FG Tour V2 Irons
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

love at first 7 iron

PostedDecember 10, 2012
Customer Avatar
bysaabrad
from chattanooga, tn
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Look 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Feel 
5 / 5
5 / 5
i'm almost ashamed to post an across the board 5 star review. but here we are: the fg 2v's are great looking clubs both at address and resting in the bag. then there's the feel when you strike the ball... very soft, but absolutely solid...even when "pounding range rocks". finally, there's so much more forgiveness than you'd expect with a forged players' iron. if you're in the market for a new set of irons, you'd be making a big mistake not to give these a try.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
1 2 next>>