Wilson Sporting Goods Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Wilson Sporting Goods
Shop Tennis | Rackets or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for Pro Tour BLX

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Wilson Sporting Goods.

Pro Tour BLX

The professional level choice of a new generation of powerful baseline bashers, the Pro Tour BLX performance tennis racket offers up the pace and spin needed to penetrate the court from any position. Enhanced fell from the basalt fibers of the new BLX technology, make the Pro Tour BLX a rising star on the tournament court.
Average Customer Rating:
4.556 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(9 Reviews) 9
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 9 reviews
5 stars
7
4 stars
0
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
0
7 out of 9(78%)reviewers would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for Pro Tour BLX
Review 1 for Pro Tour BLX
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome Racket!

PostedOctober 9, 2012
Customer Avatar
byChadal
from Lavenham, Suffolk
Age:25-34
Gender:male
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for Price 
4 / 5
4 / 5
At first I wasn't too sure about it but after playing with it for a couple of weeks it really improved my overall game. I am a 'big hitter' and if you you like to take a good swing at the ball then this is the one for you! I string with a full poly bed and tried it a 50lbs at first, even at 50lbs it felt a little stiff so decided to drop it to 48lbs which gave me the power and feel combination I was looking for! The tighter string pattern definitely gives you much more control at the net and if you want to put one down the line when you've been pushed wide then accuracy is vastly improved! It will take you a little while to adjust if you are coming from a 16x20 string bed but I am sure glad I made the change! I have been using Wilson rackets for over 20 years and this is the one I now sleep with! Good Luck and give it a try.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Pro Tour BLX
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good solid racket

PostedJuly 2, 2012
Customer Avatar
byAnonymous
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for Price 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I've had this racket for just over a year now and i've grown to love it. For somebody with a big topspin forehand and plays as the aggressive baseliner. The tight string pattern brings with it great feel, control and confidence when hitting. Be this as it may, topspin and power have to be generated by you. This means that powerful winners are quite physically demanding but it gives you the confidence to really take a swing at the ball on occasion. Volleys are also quite good but you need to hit that sweet spot.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Pro Tour BLX
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

String 2 lbs less than previous KF Pro Tour

PostedJanuary 14, 2012
Customer Avatar
byKimbal
from Acton, MA
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for Price 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I rely on and enjoy my K Factor Pro Tours, and picked up the BLX version as extra. Find BLX has much tighter string pattern, with 18x20 compared to 16x19, and even outer mains of BLX are closer together overall. This means one can use 2-3 lbs less tension, and even forego using polyester for similar feel (as MF and nylon are easier to string). BLX version has better depth control and direction change due to tighter string pattern, but slightly less "kick." I use lots of spin, and find my strings last much longer with denser string pattern, for the obvious reason that the strings move much less in the frame and I do not have to keep adjusting them back into place. Racket also feels great to swing, and it is nice looking product to boot. Very happy with this product overall
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Pro Tour BLX
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

An incredibly good racket

PostedDecember 3, 2011
Customer Avatar
byMatt
from New York
Age:25-34
Gender:male
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value for Price 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This racket offers incredible accuracy and strength. The design looks cool and it last a good amount of time.
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Pro Tour BLX
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Sweet spot poor

PostedMay 30, 2011
Customer Avatar
byPhil
from Berlin
Age:25-34
Gender:male
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value for Price 
2 / 5
2 / 5
I tested a bunch of rackets this year, because I needed new ones. I´m a 6.0 NTRP player. I really like the BLX series but the BLX Pro Tour isn´t as good as the last K model. The last one was offered with a 16x20 string pattern which was really smooth to play. The sweet spot of the new 18x20 version is really small and just doesn´t feel right when hitting of centre balls. Wilson should offer this version also in a 16x20 version to satisfy clay court players for more spin! I can really recommand the BLX six-one 95 18x20 version!!! It´s a solid racket with a much bigger sweet spot and an awesome feel!!!
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Pro Tour BLX
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Just Doesn't Fit My Game

PostedMarch 5, 2011
Customer Avatar
bySammy Meatball
from Davenport, IA
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Appearance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Durability 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value for Price 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I admit that the problems are more mine than the racket. It doesn't have the feel I'm looking for and have since switched to the Blade 98 BLX. The Blade has better feel and control for groundstrokes and I probably prefer the Pro Tour for the net game. The Blad is also easier on my elbow.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Pro Tour BLX
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Raquet

PostedJanuary 31, 2011
Customer Avatar
byAnonymous
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for Price 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Been using it for a few months. I can hit tons of shots with it, drop shots, put away volleys, baseline smashers, topspin or flat power shots. The closed pattern is good to get some spin to get your balls in just enough. I've hit tons of line shots so it gives me good power and just enough spin. My serves with it were not too bad, but not the greatest. Its definitely great in my opinion if you play a power game. Tried the RPM blast, and Wilson Extreme Synthetic Gut with it. I did much better with the synthetic on it with a mid tension.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
3of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Pro Tour BLX
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Try this racquet!

PostedJanuary 20, 2011
Customer Avatar
bySean P
from Scottsdale, AZ
Age:25-34
Gender:male
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for Price 
3 / 5
3 / 5
User submitted photo
I bought this racquet from my local tennis store. I tried a wide number of racquets from a couple of different manufacturers, but I really liked the tight pattern that this racquet offers. It has grown with me as I have moved from a 3.0 to 4.25 NTRP in the course of a year. I am planning to try the BLX 6.1 Tour 90 just to see how the the compare and to see if I can get a lot more spin out of the 6.1. The Pro Tour BLX has more stability than many of the other BLX racquets. I preferred this to the 6.1 95. The key to unlocking the true potential for this racquet comes in the string selection and tensioning. After trying a lot of different strings and breaking many of them on the serve, I have found natural gut in the crosses and Luxilon ALU Big Banger Rough (I think distributed by Wilson in the USA) to be a nice combination that has improved my flat serve. I also recommend the Wilson Pro Overgrip. In my experience it has excellent feel and tackiness for about 2-3 uses, so I change it once or twice a week depending upon how much I am playing.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
5of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Pro Tour BLX
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

PostedNovember 18, 2010
Customer Avatar
byAnonymous
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for Price 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Excellent Racket. A bit stiffer than the previous version. Would prefer a different string pattern.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Read Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Chadal
London, England
Awesome Racket! (but give it a chance)
Posted October 6, 2012
At first I wasn't too sure about it but after playing with it for a couple of weeks it really improved my overall game. I am a 'big hitter' and if you you like to take a good swing at the ball then this is the one for you! I string with a full poly bed and tried it a 50lbs at first, even at 50lbs it felt a little stiff so decided to drop it to 48lbs which gave me the power and feel combination I was looking for! The tighter string pattern definetly gives you much more control at the net and if you want to put one down the line when you've been pushed wide then accuracy is vastly improved! It will take you a little while to adjust if you are coming from a 16x20 string bed but I am sure glad I made the change! I have been using Wilson rackets for over 20 years and this is the one I now sleep with! Good Luck and give it a try.
+1point
1of 1voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)