Wilson Sporting Goods Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Wilson Sporting Goods
Shop Golf | Balls or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for Wilson Staff FG Tour X

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Wilson Sporting Goods.

Wilson Staff FG Tour X

The Wilson Staff FG Tour X is a multilayer urethane golf ball that delivers a firm feel with low spin off the driver and long irons. It is guaranteed to deliver exceptional distance, shot-stopping spin and Tour caliber feel. Wilson Staff is so confident in the performance of this ball, we are offering a money back guarantee. With each purchase of a dozen, you receive a free 2-ball trial pack. Limit of one 2-ball trial ball pack per order per model.
Average Customer Rating:
4.8 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(10 Reviews) 10
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 10 reviews
5 stars
9
4 stars
0
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
9 out of 9(100%)reviewers would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for Wilson Staff FG Tour X
Review 1 for Wilson Staff FG Tour X
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Fg tour x

PostedSeptember 1, 2013
Customer Avatar
byDavid
from Harrogate, Tn
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Look 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Feel 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I will answer one question from this review board. My swing speed is 92 mph and yes you can play this ball. I have all the balls in my garage and I have play all, but this ball tops them all. Distance is super , stops like it hit a wall, and feels great off the irons. Put this ball on TV like you do the duo and you can't keep up with the demand. PS Love my D-100.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Wilson Staff FG Tour X
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Impressive Product

PostedAugust 20, 2013
Customer Avatar
bylucofliskeard
from Carpentersville
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Look 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Feel 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I've now played this ball for a full year. It has become hands-down my go-to ball. This ball is longer than any other ball I've ever played... and I've tried more than 2/3 of the high end balls out there in the past 3 years. If you haven't tried this product and have a club head speed above 105 mph (like me), you've got to give this ball a try. Great in the wind. Long off the woods and irons and responsive on approach shots -- couldn't be happier with this ball. Great value as well!
- Club Champion in Chicagoland
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Wilson Staff FG Tour X
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Ball feels great with distance

PostedAugust 15, 2013
Customer Avatar
byLA
from Ft. Worth, TX
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Look 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Feel 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I have always been a titleist fan until I tried the FG Tour X the feel on and around the greens compares to no other ball that I have played. Coming off the tee box with my driver was a great feeling when you are 20 to 30 yards longer than your playing partners the sound off the driver and sound with the wedges and putter are pleasent to the ears. The price that I paid for the three dozen balls allows me to play a round of golf for free thanks for making a great product at a fantastic price.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Wilson Staff FG Tour X
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Everything you want in a ball

PostedSeptember 1, 2012
Customer Avatar
byFrancois
from Quebec
Age:25-34
Gender:male
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Look 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Feel 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This ball is perfect! Long / straight / Lots of spin with shorts irons and the uretane cover is durable. I prefer this one to all others brands. The only bad thing about this ball is you're really sad when you lost one!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Wilson Staff FG Tour X
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

PostedAugust 28, 2012
Customer Avatar
byxtour
from gilbert az
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Durability 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Look 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Feel 
3 / 5
3 / 5
this isnt so much a review as everything i have read about this ball, is that you have to have a fast club head speed or ball speed to get anything out of this ball, is this correct? Iam a 0 handicap and my swing speed is around 102, can i compress this ball?
I would recommend this to a friend!
-8points
0of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Wilson Staff FG Tour X
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Contender with Pro-V1x

PostedApril 9, 2012
Customer Avatar
byJudsonJman26
from Elgin, Illinois
Age:18-24
Gender:male
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Look 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Feel 
4 / 5
4 / 5
At first un-boxing it's clear that these are top quality balls. The dimples on the ball are slightly smaller than the Pro-V but overall they look very similar. The cover on the FG Tour X is almost tacky to the touch, much more so than the Pro-V. The FG overall has a slightly firmer feel than the Pro-V from the putter up to the driver. FG makes a "click" noise off of the putter compared to the "thunk" noise with the Pro-V. Overall distance goes to the FG Tourx, but the Pro-V1x produces a marginal amount more spin on iron shots. Both are workable around the greens. Pro-V1x cover is a bit more durable than the FG Tour X. Overall, the FG Tour X is probably the best bang for your buck if you have swing speeds of 105 mph or higher.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Wilson Staff FG Tour X
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Worthwhile purchase!

PostedMarch 21, 2012
Customer Avatar
byGolf_man
from Haslet, TX
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Look 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Feel 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Before playing my first round in two months I purchased a box of Tour X balls. First hole 469 yard par 4 was a driver then sand wedge. A few holes later I drove the green and made my eagle put on a 353 yard par 4. The wind picked up on the back nine and this ball did not ballon on me - great design. Only problem with all the distance was the wear on the cover caused by hitting so many SW to 9i approach shots.
Have shared some of box with buddies and they love them.
I would recommend this to a friend!
-5points
1of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Wilson Staff FG Tour X
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Longest tour level ball ever made for hard swingers

PostedMarch 15, 2012
Customer Avatar
byElSingleDig
from Upstate, SC
Age:25-34
Gender:male
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Look 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Feel 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I used to play the original FG but my rep got me hooked on the FG-X. It is a lot firmer so I can just swing away without fear of overcompression or ballooning. I swing in the 130mph+ range and it is at least 12-20 yards longer than any other tour ball on the market. Combine that with the best touch, spin, and predictability around the greens and you have a combo that does everything, without giving up anything. God bless Wilson's R&D.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
2of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Wilson Staff FG Tour X
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

As good as anything out there

PostedFebruary 14, 2012
Customer Avatar
byDavid
from Harrogate,TN
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Look 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Feel 
5 / 5
5 / 5
It's the best wilson has ever made.. Looks great plays great and stops great ,, Thanks Wilson for great products,,, PS I love my di 11 iron makes a 12 hc play like a 5 lol.. but true.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Wilson Staff FG Tour X
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great performance all around.

PostedNovember 13, 2011
Customer Avatar
byDB
from Nortwest Washington
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Look 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Feel 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I was fortunate enough to play the FG Tour X ball for 9 holes along
with two other scratch golfers. We all liked the ball very much.
It really performed very well with distance feel and spin. The cover
held up very well.
I would highly recommend this ball. Great job Wilson.
And Thank-You from my local rep for giving me a sleeve.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Read Comments (3)
Comments (3)
Customer Avatar
Not Tom Hanks.
Carpentersville, IL
Great performer tee to green
Posted May 30, 2012
Not just an "x" upgrade to the FG Tour. A better all around ball.
FG Tour spun off the tee too much and went soft in hot weather for faster swing speeds.
This ball does it all. GREAT distance, low spin off the tee and spins and sticks with approach shots. Haven't had the problems with the cover that a couple others have. Two balls lasted 36 holes without a scratch (might have been one ball but operator error required a second ball).
Played on a cool spring day and a 90 degree day. Ball performed great in both conditions. Was thrilled with it's performance off the tee on a hot day.
Long as anything I've used the last couple years, including Pro V and Callaway Iz and Is, with comparable performance around the green. Prefer the way it putts to the other top balls. Pro V was arguably softer on wedge shots.
Recommended.
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Customer Avatar
heater
elberta, alabama
thin skinned
Posted March 25, 2012
purchased this ball on a trial basis. i will not purchase any more of them. within 7 holes of play i had "skinned" three balls- the outer surface was peeling off from well struck irons.
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Customer Avatar
David
Harrogate,TN. I play Di11
NEW Wilson Staff FG Tour X
Posted January 6, 2012
Great ball ,,,if you have 90 mph swing speed it is super. The only thing and it's no BIG deal the ball cuts a little must be the soft cover.
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (3)
Read Comments (3)