Wilson Sporting Goods Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Wilson Sporting Goods
Shop Golf | Balls or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for Wilson Staff Fifty Elite Golf Ball

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Wilson Sporting Goods.

Wilson Staff Fifty Elite Golf Ball

Fifty Elite launched an entirely new performance expectation into the 2-piece distance ball category.  As the original - and only - 50 compression golf ball, Fifty offered unmatched feel in a ball that is as long as any on the market.  Today, Fifty Elite is hands down the best value in premium balls, offering performance similar to balls twice the price.
Average Customer Rating:
5 out of 5
5
 out of 
5
(12 Reviews) 12
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 12 reviews
5 stars
12
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
10 out of 10(100%)reviewers would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for Wilson Staff Fifty Elite Golf Ball
Review 1 for Wilson Staff Fifty Elite Golf Ball
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

ShockIng performance for the price!

PostedApril 28, 2012
Customer Avatar
byJoe71
from Oil City, PA
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Look 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Feel 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I picked up a box of 50 elites because I wanted a low ball to use for my first few rounds of the year. Being a tightwad I don't like to deposit good balls in the woods while I'm still rusty ( I guess I have less of a problem when I'm not rusty!). I have played pro v1x and many ball from that price point and below and this ball is by far the best 2 piece ball I have ever played. The ball was pretty long of the tee and has a really soft feel off the irons. This ball really shines around the greens though. It spins great and feels smooth off the putter face. Unreal for around $10 per dozen!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Wilson Staff Fifty Elite Golf Ball
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

The 50/50 has unreal distance + feel on the green

PostedApril 15, 2012
Customer Avatar
byRick Rock Star
from Honolulu / Haleiwa Hawaii
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Look 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Feel 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I've played the ProV1's and similar balls ... But after playing wit the 50/50 I noticed great distance off the tee and unbelievable control and feel on the greens whether the were rough or smooth as butter ... GREAT BALL PERIOD.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Wilson Staff Fifty Elite Golf Ball
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Outstanding Ball!

PostedDecember 27, 2011
Customer Avatar
byGolfCharisma
from Honolulu, Hawaii
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Look 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Feel 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I hit the Wilson Staff Fifty Elite Golf Ball long and straight with the driver. I also can hold greens well with approach shots and putt good with this ball. I like it better than the C-25, which is also a very good ball.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Wilson Staff Fifty Elite Golf Ball
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

The 50 Elite is 100% Pure!!!

PostedDecember 10, 2011
Customer Avatar
byHickory Man
from Kettering, Ohio
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Look 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Feel 
5 / 5
5 / 5
If you play Hickory clubs as I do, the 50 Elite is Your Ball. Your clubs will not be shocked nor your hands. This is a ball that you can work and feels great to putt with. So far I have made my first hole in one and Eagle playing the 50 Elite.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Wilson Staff Fifty Elite Golf Ball
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best Value Ball

PostedDecember 8, 2011
Customer Avatar
bynothingbutwilson
from New York
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Look 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Feel 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Is it a ProV1? Hmmmmm. Is it even as good as the Wilson Staff FG Tour's? Not quite. (I've tried a complimentary box of FG Tours thanks to the good people at Wilson Staff, which by the way I think is a better ball than the Prov1's). But to that I say, if you're not on the verge of qualifying for the PGA Tour, seriously, that extra bit of "technology" in the ball isn't going to make a difference in your game (unless you can consistently hole 20 foot putts). Believe me, I've been playing a LONG TIME and I've tried all those "other" pricier brands and yes, they do have that nice 2-3 foot back spin on the greens...but in all honesty, I'm a 8-10 handicapper, so I'm not plopping the ball 10 feet from the hole 140+yards out on 90% of my approach shots (or I would be on the PGA tour). So why would that feature really matter?
Having said that, the 50 Elite is a great ball for the low, mid , and even high handicapper. I've been using these balls consistently at the end of this season (20 most recent rounds). Compared to the "other pricier brands", these have been my conclusions:
1. Feel: Out of ALL the balls I've played (and I've played ALL of them), the 50 Elite is hands down the best feel off all the clubs, especially the putter. It's buttery soft. Compared to the 50 Elite, everything else now gives off a high pitched "click" sound and feels like you just hit a rock.
2. Performance: Longer than any of the balls in its price range and just as LONG, if not LONGER than the pricier ones. I hit my 2 longest drives ever with this ball this year. Sits on green shots very nicely. With that soft feel, you get excellent green side control. Does it spin (back) or stop as well as the balls that cost 2-3x's as much? No. But I already touched on that topic.
3. Durability: As good as any of the pricier balls. If you don't lose it, the 50 Elite is definitely good for at least 1 round. If you're like me, and you usually go through 2-3 balls a round (only due to water hazards, lost in the trees, etc), then durability and scuffing won't be an issue.
4. Look: The flat dimples apparently gives it flight stability, which contributes to greater distance, which goes back to performance. But from the viewpoint of striking and putting the ball, seriously, what does look have to do with anything? It looks like any other ball.
At the end of the day, at about a buck a ball, these are by far the best value golf ball on the market! I used to buy the ProV1's and the Star XV's just like everyone else. But since I switched to the 50 Elites, 2 things have happened. First, 2-3 strokes have come off my game, and secondly, I've been able to take my wife out for a very nice evening 2-3 times more every month! Coincidence? I think not.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Wilson Staff Fifty Elite Golf Ball
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

My favorite golf ball!

PostedNovember 16, 2011
Customer Avatar
byFranklin
from Huntsville, AL
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Look 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Feel 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I took up golf as a hobby 1 year ago. So, I began comparing all the different golf balls out there for beginners. When the course was uncrowded at the Robert Trent Jones short course in Huntsville, AL I'd hit 2-4 balls at a time for each shot. Clearly, Wilson 50 is the best ball! I love the soft feel as it rockets off the clubface. It was just as far or farther than anything I hit. I shot my best score with the 50 Elite. Great, affordable golf ball!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Wilson Staff Fifty Elite Golf Ball
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

PostedSeptember 6, 2011
Customer Avatar
byBill Orange
from N.Miami Bch.Florida
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Look 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Feel 
5 / 5
5 / 5
HMR/NMiamiBch.Fl;
84 yr young..my golf buddy suggested I "try"this ball..What a difference...great feel and it gave me additional yardage..Never checked compassion on Tour Balls..went out an purchased my new lease on the course.LOVE THEM !
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Wilson Staff Fifty Elite Golf Ball
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

WOW.......

PostedAugust 14, 2011
Customer Avatar
bySK
from Cols. OH
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Look 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Feel 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I purchased these balls for my 12 year old son. Well, we played 9 holes at our club the other day and I figured what the heck. I'll try one of them. ( I am a 2 handicap and have played "tour balls" for years) I shot a 2 under with the Wison ball.....it performed and felt EVERY bit as good as the "tour ball" that I have played for years!!!
Wilson has made me a believer and is going to save me a lot of money to boot!!!!
Well done Wilson...........
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Wilson Staff Fifty Elite Golf Ball
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

As good as any bal

PostedJune 22, 2011
Customer Avatar
byLefty Hacker
from Greensboro, NC
Age:55-65
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Look 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Feel 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I was given two sleeves of these balls in a tournament. This balls are as long as any pro line ball and and the green stopping power and feel. They are much softer and explode off irons even on miss hits. The only short fall may be they are alittle hot off the putter, but they are a great ball.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Wilson Staff Fifty Elite Golf Ball
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Improved my distance and accuracy

PostedMay 13, 2011
Customer Avatar
by2grouse
from Sugar Grove, Ohio
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Look 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Feel 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I started using the Elite 50 at the end of last summer. My distance and accuracy have been inproving ever since. I play modern and antique hickory clubs, and the feel and feed back have to be experienced to be believed. On May 12, 2011, I made my first hole in one on 140 yd. par 3. I attribute this mostly to the accuracy of the Elite 50. Thanks, Ric
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Wilson Staff Fifty Elite Golf Ball
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

distance of harder less expensive ball with feel of the pricey

PostedDecember 19, 2010
Customer Avatar
byslonstedy
from texas
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Look 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Feel 
5 / 5
5 / 5
i found a 50/50 ball while hunting for one of my "lost ones'. I turned my nose up thinking 'Wilson Staff?' I hit it because i couldn't find mine. Wow, i thought, but maybe I was dreaming. I played the ball the rest of the day (almost a year now) and was impressed all day. Lots of distance and nice soft feel, nice with the shorter clubs too. Putting feels like the overpriced, overadvertised stuff. Some guys I play with turned up their noses also. One of my coherts tried the 50/50. He wanted to know who told me about the ball. My answer," A more expensive ball showed me this diamond in the rough." Wilson Staff 50/50 is my ball now.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Wilson Staff Fifty Elite Golf Ball
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great ball for middle to high handidaps

PostedDecember 15, 2010
Customer Avatar
byBart
from The Villages, Fl
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Look 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Feel 
5 / 5
5 / 5
As amateurs we watch the pros hit Pro V balls and think that if we play them our game will improve. That is just marketing and it plays on our ego's. The reality is the higher the compression the harder you have to swing. If you have a slower swing speed it will greatly improve your distance by using a ball that is "softer" without sacrificing control or spin. I am an 18 handicap and have played many different balls but find the 50/50 to be the best choice and putting my ego aside on the first tee when everyone else is playing "the other ball." Thanks Wilson for making a product that was long overdue.
Bart
The Villages, Florida
I would recommend this to a friend!
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Read Comments (3)
Comments (3)
Customer Avatar
BlueBlazer
Los Angeles
Great Ball
Posted May 16, 2012
These are really good balls.I only purchased them because my little brother just got into golf and wanted a yellow to see better. I gave it a shot and made my first hole in one. I have played many balls.( proV1 and Srixon) i am now a believer plus for the price you must try. It took a while to get used to the soft feel. It's like hitting a marshmallow.LOL
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Customer Avatar
SK in Ohio
WOW......
Posted August 12, 2011
I am a 2 handicap and discovered this ball by accident. I purchased these balls for my 12 year old son to play. We played 9 holes at our club this morning and I thought what the heck.....I'll try one of these Wison's. Well let me tell you that I played the entire 9 holes with it and shot 2 under! I have always played a "tour ball" and this ball performed and felt every bit and better than my Bridgestone B330S ball!!!
Wilson made a believer out of me.
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Customer Avatar
Charles
Omaha, NE
50 Elite gives me ultimate control..
Posted February 4, 2011
I spent all of last year trying to find a ball that I could control as good as the 50 Elite. I didn't. For some reason, I thought that I was "too good" of a player to continue to play a ball that is priced like the 50 Elite. Bridgestone E5 was too firm, Top-Flite Gamer V2 was, well..a Top-Flite. And I will never pay for a Tour Ball. That's two rounds of golf in Omaha. I finally accepted the fact that the feel, distance, spin and ball control I have with the 50 Elite could not be matched. I always know where it's going and how it will feel. No more experimenting, no other ball fits my game better. Grew up playing Wilson Staff equipment and will never think about playing any other brand. They are the most overlooked brand in Golf to everyone accept the loyalists like me.
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (3)
Read Comments (3)