Wilson Sporting Goods Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Wilson Sporting Goods
Shop Golf | Balls or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for Wilson Staff FG Tour Golf Balls

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Wilson Sporting Goods.

Wilson Staff FG Tour Golf Balls

The Wilson Staff FG Tour is a multilayer urethane golf ball that delivers long distance and shot control with one major difference: it is the softest urethane golf ball on the market. Wilson Staff is so confident in the performance of this ball, we are offering a money back guarantee. With each purchase of a dozen, you receive a free 2-ball trial pack. Limit of one 2-ball trial ball pack per order per model.  
Average Customer Rating:
4.759 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(29 Reviews) 29
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 29 reviews
5 stars
25
4 stars
2
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
0
27 out of 27(100%)reviewers would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for Wilson Staff FG Tour Golf Balls
Review 1 for Wilson Staff FG Tour Golf Balls
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

PostedFebruary 7, 2014
Customer Avatar
byAnonymous
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Look 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Feel 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great ball at a great price. Normally play a popular tour ball and the FG compares very well. The FG is soft on iron and wedge shots and has great spin/stopping on shots with shot irons. I would definately use these balls again and would recommend them to other players/friends. For the price compared to other well known tour balls the FG is a excellent alternative.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Wilson Staff FG Tour Golf Balls
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

I'm Sold

PostedDecember 3, 2013
Customer Avatar
byGreenJacket
from Texas
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Look 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Feel 
5 / 5
5 / 5
After reading several reviews on other websites I decided to give the FG Tour a try. Excellent ball. I've been playing them for 3 weeks now can tell you that they are as good as or better than any other "tour" ball on the market. And at a much lower price. I'm a mid-single digit handicap player and never buy balls that cost $45+. Until I discovered the FG Tour I'd been playing an NXT Tour S or Bridgestone E5. I'm going to try the FG Tour X sometime soon and compare.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Wilson Staff FG Tour Golf Balls
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

PostedNovember 2, 2013
Customer Avatar
bySportsguy35
from Lebanon Tn
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Look 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Feel 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Good price and value with the play and feel of the titelist pro v
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Wilson Staff FG Tour Golf Balls
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Performamce without looks

PostedOctober 12, 2013
Customer Avatar
byTJT
from Los Angeles
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Look 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Feel 
5 / 5
5 / 5
What a great ball for all facets- driving, mid irons, short irons & putting. I'm an 11 index, and have used this ball for two years. I have a moderate (92-93) swing speed, and these work perfectly for me! My only issue with this ball- it isn't as white as others, gets dingy/dull faster than most. Option 2- the C:25 which comes close to feel & performance but is a brighter white ball, or NXT Tour. I can't compare to Pro V1 or VX, since I think it's foolish to pay that much for golf balls.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Wilson Staff FG Tour Golf Balls
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great but not Awsome

PostedSeptember 24, 2013
Customer Avatar
byRAT
from Tennessee
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Durability 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Look 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Feel 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The feel is great, distance with the x ball is the best, I love the coating on the older version ball. The flat dimple ball was a plus in distance. I would like a seamless ball with the older coating and flat dimples.
The feel with a putter is ok but the distance with the putter is lacking.
I have heard the 2014 ball has already a win on the euro tour.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Wilson Staff FG Tour Golf Balls
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Another ProV1 clone

PostedAugust 28, 2013
Customer Avatar
byRex
from Ottawa, Canada
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Durability 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Look 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Feel 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Although there is nothing inherently wrong with the FG Tour, there is nothing that really makes it stand out either. I found all of the critical attributes, such as driver distance/line, short iron spin to be average. The best thing is has going for it is price, but this is hindered by availability (or lack thereof).
W/S has unfortunately fallen into the same trend as other companies and developed ProV1/ProV1-X clones in attempt to entice better players to their products. I find this "follow-the-herd" mentality disappointing.
The best balls I've ever played was the Tx4 pro/tour. The PhD flat dimples really contributed to a straight, penetrating ball flight -- which translated to unparallelled distance. I've never had a ball before or since check so nicely with the short game, the spin was simply amazing! I would consider myself an average golfer (usually in the 80s) & I can't tell you how great it felt to be able to chip from 30-50 yards away and have the ball bounce once and then stop dead! I'm not talking a flop shot, just a normal chip! I haven't been able to do that with any other ball. Some people found them too firm -- I think there's too much emphasis on "soft-feel" at the expense of other characteristics.
W/S - Please bring back the Tx4 line! Subtle improvements could be to lose the seam & maybe offer a softer version for those golfers who put a premium on "feel". Whatever you do, don't abandon the PhD dimples and have the courage to develop your own unique products because to me, that's what has always defined W/S and made them special.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Wilson Staff FG Tour Golf Balls
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great For Moderate Swing Speeds!

PostedApril 15, 2013
Customer Avatar
byCatgolfer
from Palmdale, CA
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Look 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Feel 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This ball was so stable in the wind I could not believe it! I used a product called 'The Check-Go' to align the ball's cores just as I have done with other golf balls I have used, so this was a fair 'fight'! I have a set of Mizuno 825 Pro's with TT GS95 spined shafts and I could not be happier with the ball flight. I also have a 87 mph swing speed. The ball may look plain but it's performance is not. Dave B.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Wilson Staff FG Tour Golf Balls
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Helped me get into the 70's

PostedAugust 18, 2012
Customer Avatar
byJeffro
from El Paso Texas
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Look 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Feel 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great off of every club in my bag. Low copression but I lost no distance compared to z-stars or pro-v. I'm staying 280- 290 with a mid 90 driver speed. Much more of a luxurious feel. I've been playing the FG Tour balls all summer. With improved control I've found, I dropped from low 90's in March, to 2 79's in a row last Saturday and Sunday. Wilson Staff, please don't stop making these.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Wilson Staff FG Tour Golf Balls
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Want a ball that offers what you need on tour level - turn to the FG Tour Ball!

PostedJune 29, 2012
Customer Avatar
byJMF
from Switzerland
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Look 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Feel 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Well, well, well, following a long series of wondering around looking for a top performance ball (this includes trying many highly ranked and well advertised balls.....) I recently turned to the WS FG Tour ball. This step prompted me to stop my looking for THE ball as I can assure you I found it! Excellent feeling from the tee with very good distance, super good feeling from the fairway and around the green with ample of possilibities to get the ball there where I want it to be! And on the green I have never felt better than with this ball - astonishing feedback and comfort! The top class ball from tee to green allowing you to experience what a great ball feels like! A go to for every serious player out there!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Wilson Staff FG Tour Golf Balls
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome ball

PostedJune 26, 2012
Customer Avatar
byrhov
from Phoenix, AZ
Age:25-34
Gender:male
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Look 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Feel 
5 / 5
5 / 5
After reading so many positive reviews on the FG Tour, I took a chance and bought a dozen. I was absolutely impressed with the soft feel when putting at home. On the course, the ball flew extremely straight off every driver. I normally play the Srixon ZSTAR/ProV1 and the FG Tour ball is comparable. Iron and wedge control were also very comparable. This ball is much softer than the ZSTAR with putting and off the driver face, so I will definitely stick with this ball for awhile. After 1 round, I ended up buying 5 dozen more of these off ebay. I have also stopped using the ProV1 and ZSTAR after playing with this ball, especially for the price I got them for on ebay.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Wilson Staff FG Tour Golf Balls
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent Product.

PostedJune 21, 2012
Customer Avatar
byWadeitis137
from California,Ca
Age:18-24
Gender:male
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Look 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Feel 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Awesome performance this Fg tour ball same as the Pro V1 and X as well but more control as well as shot shaping capabilities. Distance increase and I had more stopping power than the other big company's. Very durable, on accident I hit a cart path one time and some tree's, the ball still looks the same as when I opened the container not even one bad mark on the ball for me. The look is pure white and looks nice. The feel was great and I can not complain about anything else. I would recommend it to a friend anytime.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Wilson Staff FG Tour Golf Balls
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

FG Tour Ball

PostedJune 9, 2012
Customer Avatar
byAnonymous
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Look 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Feel 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I just played my first full round with this ball. Historically have played Penta TP and ProV1 and been generally happy. I am a 4 handicap wiith decent driver swing speed about 97-99. Things I look for in a ball are spin from less that 100 yards and feel on chips and putter. Durablity is something I pay attention to as well. Here are my impressions:
Less that 100 spin: Awesome.. Better than Penta... equal to Pro V!.
Feel: The best i have ever played. Very... very soft on wedges and putter.
Feel with Irons: Soft but not to soft for me. (this may be a personal thing).
Durability: Pretty good. Scuffed up a litte on wedges but so do other premium balls (That is why they spin)
Driver distance. Seemed about average. But then again, I have yet to find any ball that is longer than another.
Overall. I was really impressed... Ever bit as good as Penta or Pro-V.
I have always tried to support the Wilson brand because of good experience with irons.. This is my ball going for 2012-2013. Don't change it, like Taylormade does every year
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Wilson Staff FG Tour Golf Balls
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Should Have Known -

PostedApril 18, 2012
Customer Avatar
byyouraway
from Niceville Florida
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Look 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Feel 
5 / 5
5 / 5
We had a great demo day at Eglin Golf Club Friday and I asked the Wilson representative about the FG Tour ball. He gave me all the spec's but also provided me with a complementary sleeve of two. One was the Tour and the other the Tour X. I've played each ball for five days now and am convinced, the ball is all it's said to be! I'll be playing the FG Tour X in the future. I found the ball to have good distance for me, even though I'm not a long hitter. But what I liked most was the play-ability around the greens. This ball can be controlled where some have excessive bite or bite and then run out. I like the ability to fly my gap wedge about 30 yards, have it hop once and then sit down quick. This ball does exactly that. I'll be playing it today forward.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Wilson Staff FG Tour Golf Balls
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Tested the Wilson FG tour against 4 other tour balls

PostedMarch 18, 2012
Customer Avatar
bybobster
from Houston, tX
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Look 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Feel 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Longest tour ball and great spin! Best price too!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Wilson Staff FG Tour Golf Balls
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

great until they split open

PostedFebruary 1, 2012
Customer Avatar
bysplitdecision
from CA
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Look 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Feel 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Have used these a lot the past year. I love the performance off all clubs, especially chipping and putting. They have a soft but confident feel. One minor complaint is that they turn slightly grey or yellow-grey, though this helps me from a distance i.d. my ball from my playing partner's. One major complaint is that I had one split open on a drive. Sounded like a propeller whizzing off, short and like a knuckleball. Our pro shop got some to try and they had one split too. Great ball if they can keep them together.
-5points
0of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Wilson Staff FG Tour Golf Balls
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent feel

PostedJanuary 16, 2012
Customer Avatar
byDibley
from Derby
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Look 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Feel 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I had a golf ball fitting session with these coming out on top. i purchased a dozen and after experiencing the superb feel, distance and spin i won't use anything else, try them you will be surprised at its performance.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Wilson Staff FG Tour Golf Balls
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Finally a ball I can feel on the face with good distance

PostedJanuary 5, 2012
Customer Avatar
byJim
from Menifee, Ca
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Look 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Feel 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I received a dozen for Christmas. Wat a ball! I have been playing Calloway HX Diablo's for the feel. The Wilson Staff FG Tour has the same feel and distance but it is the green holding spin that blows me away.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Wilson Staff FG Tour Golf Balls
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very Surprised

PostedNovember 23, 2011
Customer Avatar
byZingerflop
from St. Charles, IL
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Look 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Feel 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I have privately tested top of the line golf balls for the last four years in hope of finding one to fit my game. In many cases, playing two or three balls at the same time. I had settled on the Titleist Pro V1x until I was asked to try a sleeve of Wilson FG tour. I have been shocked as to the length, feel around the green, putting and durability. I played with these for over a month and they are still in reasonable condition. My golfing buddies have tried them too and are very surprised with the performance so we have purchased 6 dozen to share. They are creating a buzz at our club. I plan on trying the Tour X's next. Great job Wilson, I guess they won't stay a secret long. (by the way, we are all single digit handicap golfers and very picky about our equipment)
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Wilson Staff FG Tour Golf Balls
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Value!

PostedNovember 22, 2011
Customer Avatar
byPassionateaboutgolf
from Montreal, Canada
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Look 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Feel 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The Wilson Staff FG Tour ball is a superb golf ball. The ball performs as well as any other high-end ball on the market at a price point that provides the best value for the money.
Especially like the soft feel on all shots.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Wilson Staff FG Tour Golf Balls
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

A great value.

PostedAugust 15, 2011
Customer Avatar
byMooch
from Grand Rapids, Michigan
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Look 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Feel 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Shot one of my best rounds, this ball explodes off my irons, with great control. Just buy some, your golf will improve.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
1 2 next>>