Wilson Sporting Goods Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Wilson Sporting Goods
Shop Golf | Irons or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for Wilson Staff FG Tour Irons

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Wilson Sporting Goods.

Wilson Staff FG Tour Irons

The cavity-back forging on the Wilson Staff FG Tour irons earned instant placement in the bags of Tour players Paul Lawrie and Maria Verchenova. Their powerful ball flight and trajectory control caused Golf Digest to name them a Hot List winner, hailing "any low-to-mid handicapper will benefit from this set." The FG Tour irons are designed for the Feel (F) player valuing precision and shot-shaping abilty.
Average Customer Rating:
5 out of 5
5
 out of 
5
(35 Reviews) 35
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 35 reviews
5 stars
35
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
35 out of 35(100%)reviewers would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for Wilson Staff FG Tour Irons
Review 1 for Wilson Staff FG Tour Irons
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Soft heads at impact, feel is sweet.

PostedSeptember 4, 2013
Customer Avatar
byChippy Chip
from Imperial Lakewoods, Florida
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Look 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Feel 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The price is out of this world, the feedback on shots second to none, and its pleasing to the eye with the thin top line. First set of clubs was 1972 fluid feel blades, and I will be playing the Wilson brand for life...Solid clubs. Must say bought some of the new wedges last week, they rock too.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Wilson Staff FG Tour Irons
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Total quality

PostedApril 1, 2013
Customer Avatar
bystedwood
from Wales, UK
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Look 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Feel 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I have played Wilson since I was a kid. The heritage of these irons is unsurpassed in the game. Whilst the club's are high in quality they are low in cost in comparison to other brands. This does not suggest they are inferior but reinforce they are value for money.
I play to a handicap of 6 and the club's allow the control and workability that I require as well as enabling me to move the ball in the air or change flight. Coupled with soft feel it makes for a great combination.
These irons inspire me to take on shots and believe in my game, well worth the investment with a payback assured!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Wilson Staff FG Tour Irons
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Can't beat forged irons!

PostedMarch 20, 2013
Customer Avatar
by2CanStan
from Branchburg, NJ
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Look 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Feel 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I loved my Yonex ADX Tour forged irons that I played back in the 90"s. Unfortunately I got old and my irons stayed stiff. Thinking it was maybe time for the game improvement stuff I purchased numerous sets of cast clubs, all from major brands but was never able to achieve the same sweet feel you get when a ball is struct with a forged club. I have played six rounds with my FG tour R300 shaft and can't wait to play more. While I won't say these clubs are for everyone I can say that if you are a better player and want a club that gives you feedback without losing significant play-ability the FG Tour's are an excellent choice.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Wilson Staff FG Tour Irons
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

just awesome

PostedFebruary 6, 2013
Customer Avatar
byhogger1
from terrace bc canada
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Look 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Feel 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I just cannot believe how wonderful they perform. I'm glad to be back playing Wilson Staff irons. I will now try the golf ball.Thank you Wilson for a great set of irons.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Wilson Staff FG Tour Irons
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

quality and value

PostedJanuary 27, 2013
Customer Avatar
bymoorman49
from yorkshire
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Look 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Feel 
4 / 5
4 / 5
bought these as replacement for my mp60s. great irons,with a lovely feel to them. great for working the the ball but still have plenty of forgiveness. i play of a 10 handicap and find them perfect for my ability. not overpriced very good value for a quality iron.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Wilson Staff FG Tour Irons
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great irons

PostedJanuary 17, 2013
Customer Avatar
byJeff
from Gippsland, VIC
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Look 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Feel 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I always thought that WS's hayday was gone a long time ago. I had bought a set of top line clubs but found I didn't like the massive sole and thick top line. I mentioned this to a local club pro as I was thinking on buying a new set. He said not to dismiss WS as they are the most underrated clubs out there. Anyway, I bought these and am a WS convert. They are the best irons I have ever used; feel, distance, beautiful at setup, just a great iron. Thank you WS, for an excellent set of irons.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Wilson Staff FG Tour Irons
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great feel and performance!

PostedJuly 27, 2012
Customer Avatar
byPD-Golfer
from Tampa, FL
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Look 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Feel 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Replaced my old irons with the FG Tour irons and love them! The feel is fantastic. They are so solid through the set (3-pw). I have found that I hit the FG Tour irons 15-20 yards longer than my old ones, yet can control distance well on less than full swings as well as full swings with the long irons.
Very highly recomend the FG Tour irons!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Wilson Staff FG Tour Irons
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best irons ever played!

PostedJune 9, 2012
Customer Avatar
byHolyRoller
from Seattle, WA
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Look 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Feel 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Replaced a well-known brand of irons because I like to work the ball, as needed, and that other set just wanted to go straight all the time. As a low handicap player, I wanted a true "players" set of irons, and I've found them in the WS FG Tours. Can work them in any direction, have gained several yards of distance (7 iron = 170 yds), and I now carry both the 4 and 5 irons as they are very easy to hit, and long! I grew up playing Wilson Staff Progressives and then lost my way with other brands of clubs, but I've returned to the promised land and will never look back. Wilson has another great set of irons that better players can truly sink their teeth into!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Wilson Staff FG Tour Irons
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Wison FG Tour Irons - the best kept secret

PostedApril 16, 2012
Customer Avatar
byBuckets
from Sydney NSW
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Look 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Feel 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I started with the Ci6's a few years ago and was extremely happy with them. An opportunity came to update, looked at the Ci9's and the FG Tours - went too and fro for several weeks, ultimately "bit the bullet" purchased the FG's. Handicap has improved from 14 to 10 (soon to be single figures). Wilson's will stay in my bag for as long as I can play
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Wilson Staff FG Tour Irons
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Wow!

PostedFebruary 11, 2012
Customer Avatar
bydmac
from Sydney seaside course, Australia
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Look 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Feel 
5 / 5
5 / 5
As long term user (30 years+) of the fg-series musclebacks, I has always known how under rated Wilson Staff irons were. When the time came to upgrade my FG59s, I was handed a FG-Tour by the Wilson rep who was there. It only took a few strikes to tell him that they would do nicely, and could he fill my bag please? A great look, superb feel, and on-a-string workability- what more could you want? Honestly- some wedges. The FG Tour wedges just aren't quite up to the same standard- a bit more hard and jumpy off the clubface..
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Wilson Staff FG Tour Irons
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

has great feel

PostedNovember 23, 2011
Customer Avatar
bysmitty
from yorktown va
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Look 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Feel 
5 / 5
5 / 5
best set of irons that has ever been in my bag , love to try the new balls but cant find them in my area
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Wilson Staff FG Tour Irons
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome Irons!

PostedOctober 2, 2011
Customer Avatar
byRob
from Dayville, CT
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Look 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Feel 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Had been playing the CI9s all year but had been eyeing the FG Tours for a longtime. Finally decided to take the leap and am so glad I did. Went out the night before my league championship and played 6 holes with the new iron(had to stop because it got dark). Played with them the next day in the championship and shot 73! My team won! These irons are amazing. They are so smoooooooth! Straight when you want and workable when you want. Also put in a 52* FG Tour wedge and chipped to gimmie range all day. If your considering these irons but think they may be more than you can handle, don't hesitate because they play like a dream!
I would recommend this to a friend!
-4points
0of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Wilson Staff FG Tour Irons
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very happy I finally bought these

PostedSeptember 28, 2011
Customer Avatar
byCory
from Iowa
Age:25-34
Gender:male
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Look 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Feel 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I was playing the Fi5's for the last 3 years and liked them, but needed just a little more forgiveness and found it with these. I have owned 4 other sets of Wilson irons and I was dead set on buying either the MP53's, the TM CB's, or the AP2's, and hit all of them, but just kept going back to these. Anybody looking for a great forged iron, you won't be disappointed.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Wilson Staff FG Tour Irons
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome Irons

PostedSeptember 19, 2011
Customer Avatar
byEd
from Suwanee, Ga
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Look 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Feel 
5 / 5
5 / 5
These irons not only look fantastic they perform as well. The feel is like the most true blades but the forgiveness is there for those occasions when you don't make perfect contact. The custom fitting is second to none!!!
I would recommend that you look at this irons and I assure you that you won't be dissappointed.
Ed
I would recommend this to a friend!
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Wilson Staff FG Tour Irons
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

SERIOUSLY, THE BEST IRONS OUT THERE!!

PostedSeptember 4, 2011
Customer Avatar
bynothingbutwilson
from New York
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Look 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Feel 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I was using the Di9's (superb game improvement irons btw) throughout the 2010 season. I've been able to drop my index from about 18 at the beginning of last year down to 12 early this year. Therefore, I spent nearly 2 months going back and forth to my local golf shop to test the FG Tour irons along with the MP53's and the AP2's. It was a very difficult choice given all 3 sets were very similar in overall quality. However, when it came time to make the final decision, I went with my gut feeling. It told me Wilson Staff has never failed me before, but more importantly, the FG's felt and looked just that much more sweeter. So of course, I went with the FG's and I've played about a dozen rounds with them. Not only do I have absolutely NO REGRETS about my choice, but I've established a heightened sense of respect and admiration for Wilson Staff! I can't even begin to explain how amazing these clubs are, but I'll try. Not only do they look absolutely beautiful at address, but the ball comes off so crisp and solid, at the same time, feeling buttery soft off the club face. My ball flight is amazingly consistent (high and extra long) and I absolutely love the workability of these irons. I've learned to fade and draw my shots so easily with these clubs. Out of 2 of my closest golfing buddies, 1 guy uses one of the other previously mentioned irons and the other guy uses the other brand. Out of the 3 of us, my game has been the only one to improve by 2-3 strokes per round since I've picked up these beauties! Seriously, the FG Tour Irons are the best forged irons out there...even my 2 golfing buddies are starting to believe that!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Wilson Staff FG Tour Irons
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

PostedAugust 14, 2011
Customer Avatar
bymine1
from york, yorkshire, UK
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Look 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Feel 
5 / 5
5 / 5
fantastic irons
i 've used the FG TOUR irons for 20 months now and they are brilliant
best clubs i've ever had
i used mizuno before and to be better than those irons is saying something
always loved WILSON STAFF golf equipment and can't wait to see what the next generation FG's will be like
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Wilson Staff FG Tour Irons
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Finally made it to the Finals

PostedAugust 4, 2011
Customer Avatar
byLefty1
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Look 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Feel 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I tried these last year and wish I had bought them then. The feel and perfomance is better than advertised. Being a lefty we are usually disappointed that the "Better" club is never made backwards.
I used the FG Tour Irons to finish second in my Father's member/guest golf tournament. After many frustrating tries we finally made the Finals. If I had a Wilson putter we might have won! We settled for 2nd.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Wilson Staff FG Tour Irons
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Fantasitc set of Forged CB's!

PostedAugust 1, 2011
Customer Avatar
bysetter02
from Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Age:25-34
Gender:male
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Look 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Feel 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Started my season with these and the matching FG Tour wedges. Irons have preformed beautifully. I have in the past turned over my equipment pretty often but find myself not even looking at other irons any more. A pleasure to hit and look great. A sleeper in the forged CB market that people should really look into demoing if possible.
Previous irons played: MP 32/60 combo, Wishon 550 C/M combo, Titleist 695cb, Cleveland CG1 BP, Taylormade TP MB.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Wilson Staff FG Tour Irons
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

These are AMAZING

PostedJuly 15, 2011
Customer Avatar
byBebayGolf
from Atlanta GA
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Look 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Feel 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I have only had these irons for 6 weeks and they are without a doubt the best feeling irons I have EVER played with. I have had all of the BIG GUYS except for Titleist and they can't touch these. The only reason I bought them was the Golf Pro at my local Edwin Watts said that these fit me to the tee and he was right. I was a 12.3 handicap and now I am down to 10.2. I recently shot my lowest round ever, a 76. Trust me you will not be disappointed with thes clubs
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Wilson Staff FG Tour Irons
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Amazing.

PostedJuly 8, 2011
Customer Avatar
byscratch214
from NC
Age:25-34
Gender:male
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Look 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Feel 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I've been playing these clubs for about a year at this point and they are simply amazing. I've played with Ping eye2's for over 10 years and finally made the jump to these, and it's a decision I do not regret. The distance and feel to these irons are fantastic. They look absolutely amazing. Well done WS, well done!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
1 2 next>>