Wilson Sporting Goods Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Wilson Sporting Goods
Shop Golf | Irons or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for Wilson Staff FG62 Irons

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Wilson Sporting Goods.

Wilson Staff FG62 Irons

The Wilson Staff FG62 irons are a modern classic. Better players are drawn to this muscleback design for its delicate balance of sleek look, soft feel and shot-shaping ability. A closer look reveals a modern innovation: a slightly larger head, a lower muscle slot and a wider, cambered sole.  The FG62 irons fit the needs of the best Feel (F) players seeking sleekness and workability.
Average Customer Rating:
4.963 out of 5
5
 out of 
5
(27 Reviews) 27
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 27 reviews
5 stars
26
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
26 out of 26(100%)reviewers would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for Wilson Staff FG62 Irons
Review 1 for Wilson Staff FG62 Irons
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

What a set of irons

PostedNovember 26, 2013
Customer Avatar
byJDC82
from Paisley, Scotland
Age:25-34
Gender:male
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Look 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Feel 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I was using a decent, budget set of regular shaft, over-sized cavity backed irons, which did the job for a while. I was drawn to blades more through vanity in the first instance, however, the more I play (between course and range) the more confident I became in my ball striking ability and with that decided to make the switch. The Wilson FG62 blades are stunning looking, well constructed and (as with all blades) sweet when hit correctly. I opted for stiff shaft vs. regular as I've a tendency to fade a little more than I'd like. I feel more confident at address and I'm fairly consistent with yardages so far. Again, with most bladed clubs, mistakes are punished, but, budding golfers should be aware before purchasing. Bottom line, I'd recommend to anyone looking for blades; they're as good looking and consistent as some of the ridiculously priced brands and should be the only set of clubs you need.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Wilson Staff FG62 Irons
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Custom fit to get the best out of these beautiful crafted clubs

PostedOctober 14, 2013
Customer Avatar
byMadaboutgolf
from Hull, England
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Look 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Feel 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Many years ago I played with a set of Wilson Reflex irons - unbeknown to me at the time I was using blades and had them for many years without a hitch, admiring the quality of the clubs. I gradually improved my handicap into single figures, until an injury enforced a long-term break from the game. After the enforced lay-off, two years ago I tried my hand again and found that with thicker grips, I was still able to grip a club firmly enough and strike the ball quite well. I tested a number of new clubs, being swayed by the fact that cavity backs were 'allegedly' easier to hit and bought a new set, which although I used effectively, never felt the same affinity as I had done with my Wilsons.
I began improving and decided to look at getting some irons custom fitted to try and take my game to the next level. I tried all the latest irons from the main manufacturers and must admit to being impressed with the custom-fitting kit provided by the leading manufacturer of forged blades, however, when it came to how clubs felt at address, whilst swinging and feel off the clubhead the Wilson FG62 impressed me the most. That coupled with the look ( I believe they are the best looking clubs out there!) convinced me that these were the clubs for me. However, I benefited from being able to demo the club with four different shaft options, I chose a lighter shaft option (Nippon NS Pro 950), rather than the standard Dynamic gold shaft again because of how my swing felt with this shaft and also to achieve the ball-flight I was looking for. I also had the shaft slightly shortened and the lie angle slightly adjusted and a mid-size grip fitted to complete my custom fit.
After using them on the range and for a few rounds, my iron play is as consistent as it has ever been, the ease of striking the ball with these blades makes a mockery of the claims of cavity backs and when I hold my old cavity back clubs in my hands they feel so clumsy and 'bulky' as opposed to the very neat and streamlined look and feel of the FG 62s.
Another bonus with these clubs is that even with the custom fit they were considerably cheaper than the leading manufacturers equivalents. The build quality seems superb and I cannot understand why Wilson seem to have been overtaken by other manufactureres when they are capable of producing such a great club as the FG62 - I already feel the same affinity with these clubs as I did with my old Wilson Reflex irons, which incidentally were very innovative for the time (80's), employing technology which another manufacturer is promoting at the moment in its VST clubs and speedblade irons - if you are considering purchasing new irons and don't have Wilsons on your shopping list you could save yourself some money and discover what some of us have known for years - Wilson are amongst the very best!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Wilson Staff FG62 Irons
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best iron ever!

PostedSeptember 12, 2013
Customer Avatar
byScott
from Orlando
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Look 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Feel 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I've played Miura, Mizuno, and Titileist muscle back irons and these irons re the very best I've ever hit. Huge sweet spot and very soft. The only thing I would change would be a satin finish instead of chrome. The Miura limited forged and baby blades are the only iron I could use instead and not feel a drop off in performance. Please keep it up Wilson!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Wilson Staff FG62 Irons
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Inspires Confidence, Makes you better

PostedJuly 15, 2013
Customer Avatar
byAnonymous
Age:25-34
Gender:male
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Look 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Feel 
4 / 5
4 / 5
6-8 Handicap.
Timeless look, will be in my bag for a long, long time. Smaller head and thin top line inspire confidence on at address. Solid contact is rewarded with the best feel you will ever find in an iron. Miss-hits off toe or "fat-shots" will be instantly noticeable by the sound but not as much yardage is lost as would be expected.
MAKE SURE TO GET THESE CLUBS FITTED. Wilson standard lengths/lies may be different than what you are used to but once fitted will be among the best out there.
Not as workable as you might expect from a blade but I have found this is due too more backspin generated allowing the ball to hold its line, which is can be just as desirable depending on preference.
High handicappers will benefit from learning how to properly strike a quality iron. Low handicappers will love the playability and design.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Wilson Staff FG62 Irons
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Incredible golf clubs

PostedJune 11, 2013
Customer Avatar
byForged
from North Carolina
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Look 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Feel 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I am an 18 handicap and have had these clubs for two weeks. I have played 5 rounds with them. I tried cavity backed irons and did not like it. The FG-62's are a work of art and perform as good as they look. Extremely smooth feel and great control.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Wilson Staff FG62 Irons
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

top club with a top look

PostedJune 1, 2013
Customer Avatar
bybig Dal
from melbourne Australia
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Look 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Feel 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aussie Golfer. Been using fg62's for over 12 months ,I've always played with blade irons last were Hogen tour blades and these WILSONS are better than Hogens. They are crisp ball strike clubs with a fantastic profile and look.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Wilson Staff FG62 Irons
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

There simply is nothing better!!!

PostedMay 9, 2013
Customer Avatar
bydaviepro
from Glasgow
Age:18-24
Gender:male
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Look 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Feel 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Assistant Professional used to use MP60's and always wanted a blade to look down on. Tried multiple options but could never find anything as good performing or looking as these irons. Feel is simply superb and make it so easy to work the ball around the course. If you have the ability and dont have these in your bag then you are missing out.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Wilson Staff FG62 Irons
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Stunning

PostedApril 29, 2013
Customer Avatar
byEagles Are Better Birdies
Age:25-34
Gender:male
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Look 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Feel 
5 / 5
5 / 5
These irons are amazing in so many ways. They are so easy to hit, much easier than most game improvement irons and they give you so much control over the golf ball. If you are looking to improve your game than these are the right irons to use. Stay away from all that junk the shoe companies are putting out there.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Wilson Staff FG62 Irons
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

In a league of their own!

PostedApril 7, 2013
Customer Avatar
byBostenr
from Bahrain
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Look 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Feel 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I'm an American living in Bahrain with a 6 handicap on a very difficult Colin Montgomerie course. Wilson is not known in this part of the world, so I had never even heard of this model before. While home on vacation I decided to get fitted for some new clubs. I tried 4 different sets: Titielist MB Forged, Mizuno MP 69 (my current set is Mizuno MP 52), and TaylorMade MB were my choices, but the shop owner insisted I try the Wilson FG 62 as well. Without a doubt, the FG 62 was the best. The only one that came even close to comparing with these irons was the Mizuno. But these 62's even blew those out of the water. The look drew me to the club and the feel sold me. I firmly believe that if these clubs had a better known name on them, they would be the best selling clubs the world over. I had been in a rut lately somewhat losing my way around the course. But not anymore...these clubs make it fun again. Great job Wilson, you've brought a lost sheep back to your den! Anyone want to buy a set of MP 52's??
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Wilson Staff FG62 Irons
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best Irons Made.

PostedSeptember 13, 2012
Customer Avatar
byDAD
from Albuquerque
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Look 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Feel 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I bought a FG62 PW to go with my older Wilson Staff irons. Liked it so much I just ordered a complete set of FG62's.(3-9). The quality of a Wilson iron is far superior to any on the market today. I also use the Wilson's FG Tour ball and what a combination FG62 irons and FG Tour Golf Ball. If you aren't play Wilson irons and using the FG tour golf ball you aren't playing competitive Golf.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Wilson Staff FG62 Irons
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

a peice of artwork

PostedAugust 14, 2012
Customer Avatar
byjmiller065
from North Carolina
Age:25-34
Gender:male
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Look 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Feel 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I have been playing the W/S FG62 for about 6months now and they have helped me bring my handicap down from a 9 to a 3.4 currently. I shot my lowest 9 holes in history using the irons of a -3 under 33 from the tips. The feel is great the control tops expectations, the offsets are minimal great for the better player. The over all feel is as soft as anything else I have hit. The appearance is classy and not too busy, I'm a minimalist I don't need fancy designs to make me want to buy a set of irons I want performance only and I got that out of the W/S FG62s.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Wilson Staff FG62 Irons
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Absolutely awesome

PostedApril 20, 2012
Customer Avatar
byFalcon
from Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Age:25-34
Gender:male
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Look 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Feel 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best iron set I've ever owned. Buttery feel but of course you need the proper shaft. If you don't go and get fitted for the proper shaft you are wasting your money buying any club. I wish Wilson Staff would do more promotion for their irons like this. Anyone that I know who plays Staff are always pleased they switched to the Wilson Staff brand.
You will not be disappointed.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
3of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Wilson Staff FG62 Irons
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent Irons!

PostedApril 19, 2012
Customer Avatar
byMookster
from Orillia, Ontario Canada
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Look 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Feel 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Bought these blades earlier this year after comparing them with the Nike VR blades (left hand). First blades I ever owned or used and like a lot of these posts say, don't listen to all the hype about blades being hard to hit, these are very nice to hit from the pitching wedge to the three iron.
These irons are beautiful and a great value compared to the pricing of other blades.
Back to the comparison; these equally compared to the Nike VR although I like the head shape of the Wilson FG 62s better.
No question, these are excellent irons and not to mention you will get compliments on them and as I said earlier, these are very nice to hit.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Wilson Staff FG62 Irons
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best feel of any iron

PostedApril 6, 2012
Customer Avatar
byLancealoha
from Sandy, Utah
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Look 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Feel 
5 / 5
5 / 5
These have the best feel of any blade I have used. Nothing feels as good as the Wilson MB. Titleist comes close but the Wilson gives the true buttery feel and control that a good golfer wants. I would recommend these clubs to anyone..
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Wilson Staff FG62 Irons
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent Clubs

PostedMarch 20, 2012
Customer Avatar
byJack
from Michigan
Age:18-24
Gender:male
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Look 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Feel 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Hit these clubs the other day at the local Carl's Golfland, and needless to say they are the best feeling, workable, and forgiving clubs I have hit. Right now I am playing the MP 33s and I thought they were the best blade out there until I hit these. All clubs, even the 3 iron, are easy to hit and work. I was shocked at how forgiving these were as well. Excellent ball flight. Nothing more you could want in a set of clubs!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Wilson Staff FG62 Irons
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

What else do you need ?

PostedMarch 2, 2012
Customer Avatar
byMichael H
from Celle Germany
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Look 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Feel 
5 / 5
5 / 5
What a feeling..........what lovely kind of clubs. Hitting a ball with this is briliant.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Wilson Staff FG62 Irons
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Wow!!!

PostedFebruary 3, 2012
Customer Avatar
byWhip
from Michigan
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Look 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Feel 
5 / 5
5 / 5
A few of my golf friends told me that I should try out the new Wilson irons. I was somewhat surprised that they even mentioned it to me knowing I only play blades from a well know and established manufacture. After constant suggestions I decided to try the Wilson FG62 irons in comparison to my current blades.
I first noticed that the FG62 irons are beautiful, they look like the Ferrari version of blades. I hit buckets of balls for two days comparing the FG62 to my top renown blades and the results were astonishing.
The FG62 irons were easier to work left, right, high or low without producing major slices or hooks. The feel of the FG62 were better than my irons. The forgiveness of the irons were better. In fact, I felt as though I had to purposely try to mishit the clubs to see if I could mishit them. It was unbelievable!!! Every single shot was on the money, I could not mishit these clubs.
Wilson has changed the sole, muscleback, soft feel and length of the FG62 irons to perform perfectly. In fact, these clubs are workable, forgiving and offer the best feel I have ever experienced.
Seriously, you owe it to yourself to simply try these irons out for yourself. If you are a low to mid handicapper and possess a decent, not necessarily great swing, these clubs will improve your game. I cannot recommend these enough. I sold my high end well known clubs and have not regretted a moment of them. Playing with these clubs are rewarding and addictive...Seriously.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
7of 13voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Wilson Staff FG62 Irons
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best Ever

PostedNovember 27, 2011
Customer Avatar
byJerry V
from Philadelphia, PA
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Look 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Feel 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best irons I have ever hit.
I had been playing with cavity back clubs for over 13yrs. As soon as I saw the FG 62's I had to have them.
The myths about the average or below average player should not be using blade irons is a bunch of nonsense. The FG 62's are very easy to hit and they look great at address.
The FG 62 Irons are without a doubt the best clubs I have ever hit. Fantastic job by Wilson.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Wilson Staff FG62 Irons
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

A great set of blades

PostedOctober 30, 2011
Customer Avatar
byAnonymous
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Look 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Feel 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I got my Wilson FG62's a while back now and since i have had them have seen a number of other manafactures bring out new model blade irons. After seeing these i am still glad that i chose Wilson blades. They are the perfect combination of tradition and contemporary design. The look at address is fantastic and the very slightly larger head than other blade designs makes them confidence inspiring while still enabling shot shaping capabilities. The only down side is a lack of shaft options and a very slightly heavy swing weight, otherwise these irons are perfect
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Wilson Staff FG62 Irons
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Classic!

PostedSeptember 24, 2011
Customer Avatar
byBill G
from Simpsonville, SC
Age:25-34
Gender:male
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Look 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Feel 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I recently bought the FG 62's and I have to say, they're absolutely the best looking, feeling, and performing irons I've ever played. I started playing golf with blades and these are about as good as it gets. As soon as you set the club down at address, you can't help but notice the sleek, sexy lines. I've hit many clubs when searching for blades, and these are by far the best feeling clubs on the market. They feel like "butter" on almost every shot. You can definitely work the ball left or right with these! Wilson is making a comeback! Great job Wilson...I couldn't be more happy with these clubs. Keep up the good work!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
1 2 next>>