Wilson Sporting Goods Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Wilson Sporting Goods
Shop Golf | Irons or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for Ci9 Irons

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Wilson Sporting Goods.

Ci9 Irons

The Ci9 award-winning head shape incorporates elements designed for Tour players - like a thinner top line and moderately progressive offset - and melds them into a confidence boosting midsize head to appeal to a wide range of golfers. The exoskeleton in the rear cavity delivers the stability required by the mid-to-high handicapper looking to take his or her game to the next level.
Average Customer Rating:
4.925 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(40 Reviews) 40
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 40 reviews
5 stars
37
4 stars
3
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
40 out of 40(100%)reviewers would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for Ci9 Irons
Review 1 for Ci9 Irons
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great weight system for the mid handicaper.

PostedOctober 24, 2012
Customer Avatar
byTheSaunders
from Canada
Age:25-34
Gender:male
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Look 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Feel 
4 / 5
4 / 5
User submitted photo
Before these clubs I was a high handicap, I bought these clubs and my scores immediately started dropping!
I was going to buy a used set of a different brand and found these at the grand opening of a new golf shop in my hometown. I simply got the proper shaft, (Stepless Steel Stiff) and went out and played.
You always hear that it takes time to figure out new clubs and this is true for these as well. I was hitting way longer and with much better placement, my handicap is now a decent 12 and I'm looking forward to this coming season to drop it even more!
Wilson Clubs are overlooked for the "bigger brands" but for bang for your dollar, why would you go with anyone else? Don't believe me, try them yourself! I compared them to much more expensive clubs and even still these came out on top.
I would very much recommend for a friend, they are a game improvement club for the mid handicaper. These clubs have made golf a much more enjoyable sport, and I am now taking it a bit more serious playing in tournaments and so on. If you are a better player the FG series would be a better choice, but I can guarantee that when I get my next set of clubs they will be Wilson once again!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Ci9 Irons
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good Bones

PostedSeptember 12, 2012
Customer Avatar
byIron man Charlie
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Look 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Feel 
5 / 5
5 / 5
As a lefty, leave it to Wilson to start picking up the slack for golfers hitting from the left side. Have been playing the C-9 for about a year. Getting outstanding distance from the clubs, which are shafted with the stiff flex,Graphite Aldila Proto. I hit these clubs as accurately with the Proto as I did with the project X on my former irons. Always preferred a forged head, but these irons go well and feel good.
Since I had always played a forged pro- like iron, I might recommend little less offset on the PW and GW. I lenghtened the clubs a 1/2 inch for me, and the result is still impressive, maintaining the swingweight with the shaft head, and grip that just fits me great.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Ci9 Irons
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Impressed with Wilson Product

PostedSeptember 7, 2012
Customer Avatar
byBig David
from Union, Ky
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Look 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Feel 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I've played many GI irons over the years or demo'd them but never hit a Wilson product. Based on review only I ordered some CI9's with Uniflex shaft. Initially I was dissapointed because the uniflex shaft was not stepless nor was it 1/2 inch over standard length like most CI9's.
All that said, I gave them a try and they fit me like a glove. Might need to bend them 1 degree but near perfect and have helped me flatten my plane a bit and get more consistant ball flight.
In the lofted clubs they have strong lofts so I compare the PW to my old 9iron. The CI9 is about 1/2 club longer with better ball control.
These clubs are wonderul, at any price, for the person committed to swing improvement and seeking feedback yet needing game improvement features when the old deamons come out in the middle of the backswing!
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Ci9 Irons
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

From Blades to Ci9's

PostedJuly 13, 2012
Customer Avatar
byGolfJunkie
from Irvine, CA
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Look 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Feel 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Backgroud - I used to play twice a week and in the past 4 years...8 times. I used to be a 2 handicap and now..."I don't wanna know." So my blades were just too demanding for me to enjoy my twice yearly golf outings. So when I saw these on sale, I jumped at the opportunity. Can't justify spending too much $$ if I only play twice a year.
Looks-not as good as my blades but not ugly as some other game improvement irons. Kinda busy but I put lead tape in cavity anyways, so it looks alot better now.
Distance-one word "WOW." I know that the 9iron has same loft as my old 8 iron so I'll compare the two. Old 8 iron 155 yards, Ci9 9 iron 165 yards. Need I say more? It will take some getting used to, but I'll manage.
Performance-High and straight, I don't play enough to work the ball like I used to so this doesn't matter anymore. I can keep the ball flight low but not as much as my old blades, but, again, twice a year player...I don't really care anymore.
Feel-of course blades win, but these are pretty decent on center shots. You can kinda tell when you miss hit it. So, good feedback.
Overall-I'm happy with these. I wanted something more forgiving than my blade that won't break the bank. I also wanted a classic profile at address with good feel and feedback on mishits. I found it...
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
4of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Ci9 Irons
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent integration of game-improvement with the virtues of blades.

PostedMay 23, 2012
Customer Avatar
byTexas Pastor
from Corpus Christi, TX
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Look 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Feel 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Replaced my older forged blades with the graphite-shafted Ci9's after trying everything from the one-swing-does-it-all super game improvement clubs to soft-forged blades. I wanted to maintain some of the workability and feel of forged blades and get some relief from swing inconsistencies. These are perfect.
Naysayers told me these are too hard to hit and give up way to many benefits offered by super game improvement clubs. Maybe they are right but I have all the benefits that I was looking for. Also, balls are flying medium high, 25 yards longer per club, and consistently drawing 3-5 degrees. These are my clubs until I can no longer find bright orange balls!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Ci9 Irons
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Shot Dropping Awesomeness!

PostedMay 13, 2012
Customer Avatar
byClappdogger
from Adelaide South Australia
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Look 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Feel 
5 / 5
5 / 5
As a fairly average hacker, I was VERY excited to unwrap these babies. Took my time to decide and fell in love with Ci-9's. Beautiful feel, really forgiving on the brain-fade shots and of course, they look hot! Went from average rounds of 92's-96's down to solid 82-84's. Took a little to adjust to the extended meterage I was getting, as to my surprise (and delight), my standard 9 iron swing with the Ci-9 9 iron was sailing over the green. Finally I am getting value for shots! There is something really sweet about standing 100 metres out from the pin, and reaching for the right club with full confidence of how far the ball will travel and how it will behave when it lands. Great consistency, awesome feel, fantastic control. LOVE LOVE LOVE my Ci-9's.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Ci9 Irons
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Demo this club before buying the name brands!

PostedMay 12, 2012
Customer Avatar
byAnonymous
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Look 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Feel 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I've played Mizuno blades for the past 5 years, and these compare with the best of them. I demo'd the Burner 2.0 irons on a lauch monitor, and found these to be 10-12 yards longer just with the uniflex shaft. I've always played a stiff shaft, but the regular flex produced the nice mid-high lauch that I was desiring, and the distance from years past came roaring back. When you hit the center, it has that nice sound that a good blade would produce, and you get instant feedback on every shot, wether it's off the heel, toe, or in the center. Wilson has always been mentioned with the cheaper clubs, but they are going to be a force in the iron market in the coming years. And the price is unbelievable!! Make sure and give these clubs a try before buying any of the other name brands. You will be suprised at how well you hit them. Way to go Wilson!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Ci9 Irons
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Found My Gamers

PostedMay 5, 2012
Customer Avatar
bystatmagic
from LA
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Look 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Feel 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I've had 'em all. I've probably owned at least one set of irons from each of the major manufacturers. I bought these as a secondary set for when I visited relatives. Boy was I surprised. These are money! Best feeling and confidence inspiring irons I've ever owned. My set has the uniflex shafts which at first I was skeptical of but now absolutely love. I have no worries grabbing the 4 iron in a tournament from 185 to 190 and going for the green. I can't say that about any other set I've owned. Unbelievable. If you can't hit these you need to see a PGA Pro and stop buying clubs.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Ci9 Irons
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great irons. Great price. Wilson is so underrated.

PostedApril 23, 2012
Customer Avatar
byPapa ost
from Chicago, IL
Age:18-24
Gender:male
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Look 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Feel 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I bought these irons to replace my old Callaway big Bertha fusion irons. The uniflex steel shafts have been great and I have tremendous confidence sitting over the ball with these puppies. Penetrating ball flight with great spin on the greens. The 4* less loft per iron helps play in the wind and still yields great flighted shots. These are my favorite irons I have owned and played thus far surpassing my pings and callaways by leaps and bounds. Great value for the price. Must try and buy!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Ci9 Irons
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Look Great Control

PostedMarch 22, 2012
Customer Avatar
bytrubeliever
from Pittsburgh Pa
Age:25-34
Gender:male
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Look 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Feel 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Love these clubs. People have to be insane not to like these clubs for the prices. The only thing that I would say that they lack are grips. They aren't made for playing in wet conditions other than that these clubs are spot on. Great feel, distance and control.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Ci9 Irons
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Perfect Fit

PostedMarch 20, 2012
Customer Avatar
byWilsonStaff_Only
from North Hollywood, CA
Age:18-24
Gender:male
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Look 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Feel 
4 / 5
4 / 5
These irons are amazing, just bought them the other day and playing well already. Played with these a couple days ago and played excellent. Love the price, much lower than any other irons in its category. Great feel, goes through the turf very nicely, exactly what I would expect from a Wilson Staff iron, a great buy!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Ci9 Irons
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great club at a great bargain

PostedMarch 7, 2012
Customer Avatar
byArti0972
from Parkville,MD
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Look 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Feel 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I have been a loyal fan of Wilson staff irons since 1995. I recently upgraded to the CI9 from the CI7 model. The CI9 with the uniflex shaft is pretty amazing. There wasn't any difference in distance with the CI9, but the flight of the ball was unbelievable in comparison. The CI7 with the tx105 shaft gave me a lower ball flight. The CI9 ball flight was dramatically higher, but with the same length as the CI7. I feel more confident now when trying to hit greens with the longer irons.( 5 and 6 irons especially.) Another quality iron from the Wilson family.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Ci9 Irons
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

great clubs

PostedFebruary 5, 2012
Customer Avatar
bysteve a
from Northeast Pennsylvania
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Look 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Feel 
5 / 5
5 / 5
purchased in oct. 2011. with the crazy weather we are having this year in N.E.PA., have gotten out at least twice a month. In five months my handicap has gone from an 11 to a seven because of these irons.
was looking to buy a custom set, but the specs of the ci9 irons fit what I was looking for. cannot beat the price
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Ci9 Irons
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Straight and Long

PostedFebruary 3, 2012
Customer Avatar
byPMFT
from Kokomo, Indiana
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Look 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Feel 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best irons Ive ever hit. I can hit greens now from 180 yards out. If u are a mid handicapper and want to shoot better you should try these! And the price is excellent! My confidence is high because of these irons. Last year I was an 8 handicap and I believe I can shoot par every time out with these!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Ci9 Irons
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

OH BOY!

PostedJanuary 26, 2012
Customer Avatar
bybigreddog35
from DeMotte, IN
Age:18-24
Gender:male
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Look 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Feel 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I am a 6 handicap and I have hit Cleveland, Nike, Taylormade, and Ping irons. All of there top line irons have NOTHING on these irons. These are without doubt the best irons I've ever hit. I actually gained yardage in colder weather living in NW Indiana. Workability is insane. The feel of these clubs feels like your swinging through air and the sound is even better than a purr of a V8. For as little as these clubs cost, I may get another set and hopefully can take them to the PGA someday.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Ci9 Irons
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

HANDS DOWN THE BEST CLUBS FOR YOUR MONEY

PostedJanuary 19, 2012
Customer Avatar
byTHE PANDA
from Havertown ,PA
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Look 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Feel 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I purchased these irons as an inexpensive fill in (low funds, unloaded all my expenssive clubs irons,drivers,putters etc....) Depression fell in quick and the wife told me to purchase something to hold me over till we can get my clubs back again. So I set out trying everything in the cheapy section,PLEASE God help me!!!!! then these, the CI9's. These are every bit as accurate,just as long and feel fantastic comparred to the BIG GUYS, you know who I mean.The feel is crisp,not harsh but not butter,its a feel I have grown accustomed to in my previous irons.The flight is higher than I am used to but the ball seems to get to the target fast,no hang time so to speak ,so although the flight is higher I havn't experienced any drawbacks. I have to admit I am impressed. The CI9's feel great,they go a long way and the accurate straight flight builds some serious confidence. Just point and shoot with these. I am a 9 handicap and can hit the ball a long way filling in my driver wasn't a problem(I've got 5 drivers I love,worth nothing, lying around.),filling in my fantastic, expensive irons was a problem, The CI9's are a true BLESSING !!!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Ci9 Irons
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

PostedJanuary 2, 2012
Customer Avatar
by3 Times aweek golfer
from N.Ireland
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Look 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Feel 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Bought these back in October 2011.previously had Taylormade
Burner 2.0. Wilsons have great flight,carry, sound, feel and control.
Super clubs.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Ci9 Irons
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Perfect club between player and game improvement

PostedDecember 14, 2011
Customer Avatar
byJeffy
from Chicago, Il
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Look 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Feel 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I added 8 - 10 yards on each club. I used to hit my snake gap wedge 90 yards, I hit this GW exactly 100. Playing in northern Michigan, with the wife and spun a 9 iron back 15' on a flat green. They look and sound great, even went back and bought a cart bag. Can shape shots, and the 7 iron flies with a more penetrating flight.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Ci9 Irons
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

PostedNovember 26, 2011
Customer Avatar
byM. D.
from killeen, tx.
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Look 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Feel 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Shafts a tad bit longer than the norm, had customize to fit me , but overall I would buy another set in a heartbeat. they r supr long, So the long and short of it I won a few $$$ with them, don't knock what you hav'nt tried
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Ci9 Irons
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

PostedNovember 20, 2011
Customer Avatar
byJIM
from NEWNAN,GA.
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Look 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Feel 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I AM 71 YEARS OLD AND FOUND THE UNIFLEX SHAFT TO STIFF, SO I RESHAFTED MY C i9 IRONS WITH FUJIKURA VISTA PRO 90 SHAFTS AND I REALY LOVE MY IRONS NOW. HACP IS A 6. LOVE THE FEEL OF THE BALL OFF THE FACE AND RESULTS OF MY SHOTS. I NEED A PLACE TO ORDER A 3 AND SW FOR MY SET. FURNISH PLACE AND ADDRESS.
WOULD RECOMMEND THE C i9'S TO ANYONE.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
1 2 next>>