Wilson Sporting Goods Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Wilson Sporting Goods
Shop or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for Wilson Staff FG Tour M3 Irons

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Wilson Sporting Goods.

Wilson Staff FG Tour M3 Irons

This compact head is loaded with the precision and feel of a blade, yet has the forgiveness of a game-improvement iron.  The latest forged irons from Wilson Staff - the new FG Tour M3 irons - provide a forgiving option for the Feel (F) player valuing precision and shot-shaping.
Average Customer Rating:
4.8 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(20 Reviews) 20
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 20 reviews
5 stars
17
4 stars
2
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
17 out of 18(94%)reviewers would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for Wilson Staff FG Tour M3 Irons
Review 1 for Wilson Staff FG Tour M3 Irons
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Impressive results

PostedDecember 19, 2015
Customer Avatar
by
from Idaho
Age:35-44
Gender:male
I've been wilson staff user for a number of years. I just bought the M3 irons for my first forged set. Love the feel and immediate response. Still trying to dial in the distances. Can't wait to get some Duos to try with these irons. I was able to play at least once in each month this year!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Wilson Staff FG Tour M3 Irons
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Couldn't be happier

PostedDecember 17, 2015
Customer Avatar
by
from Las Vegas, NV
Age:25-34
Gender:male
I am coming from Ping i20 irons (which are also great clubs), but the M3 irons are a lot softer when you hit them...it's a beautiful feeling. The forgiveness I would say is equal, but the Wilson's win for me with looks (LOVE the matte black) and feel (forged irons) and price (save yourself some $$$).
These are my first W/S irons, and I am a 16hcp (irons are strong part of my game, putting and driving not so much) and these are perfect for me.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Wilson Staff FG Tour M3 Irons
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great feel

PostedNovember 9, 2015
Customer Avatar
by
from Killeen, TX.
Age:55-65
Gender:female
These club are solid and very forgiving, with optimal feel, lost a couple yards, but I will giving up a couple of yards for accuracy. If you want distance by a distance club. I am a previous CI9 owner. I had cervical spine
surgery three years ago, changed to Cobra AMPS because of the light weight, gain mobility and strength. Now l'm back with my wilson's again thank you Wilson this particular creation, theses club has improved my accuracy 75% in the last two weeks.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Wilson Staff FG Tour M3 Irons
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Nothing Better

PostedNovember 5, 2015
Customer Avatar
by
from Lubbock Tx
Age:55-65
Gender:male
The FG Tour M3 irons are great irons and the ball feels nice off the face. They are long and very easy to hit. Match the with FG Tour wedges and you will have a great set of Wilson Staff Irons.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Wilson Staff FG Tour M3 Irons
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Just what the doctor ordered!

PostedNovember 3, 2015
Customer Avatar
by
from Janesville, WI
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
I replaced my Ci7's with these newer Tour M3's w R300 steel shafts. The only modification I made with the M3's was to replace the grips with mid size Golf Pride Tour Velvet grips and still not loose the D3 weight, which is my fit.
I am making great solid ball contact along with higher loft coupled with nice distance.
I was also looking for a more traditional head design and not some bulky looking mallet, at a nice discounted price. I found it with WS.
My golf swing LOVES these irons. Maybe yours will too? Next, I plan to buy their DUO Spin ball.....one of these days.
I would recommend this to a friend!
Response from Wilson Sporting GoodsGolfNovember 10, 2015
We are so pleased to hear you are happy with your clubs! And trying the DUO Spin ball is an excellent choice. Right now with our trial program you get a free 2-pack with your purchase of a dozen. Try the balls in the 2-pack and if you are not satisfied you can return the dozen for a full refund.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Read Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Teetertotter
Janeaville, WI
Comment
Posted November 18, 2015
I appreciate the offer on the Duo Spin. I made a trip to one of our local Sporting Goods Stores and the DUO Spin was at real favorable, unbelievable, discounted price. It appears my golf season has ended this past Sunday, here in Wisconsin.
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 6 for Wilson Staff FG Tour M3 Irons
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Wilson is still my favorite

PostedOctober 28, 2015
Customer Avatar
by
from Wisconsin
Age:45-54
Gender:male
I got my first set of Wilson golf clubs (K-28s) from my dad in the mid to late '70s and still have those irons. I have tried other brands and they were all good but Wilson is still my favorite. I went to Ci9s and they played great. I now have the FG Tour M3 irons and they are top notch. The feel is solid with much more feedback due to the slightly harder carbon steel they used(8620). The offset is noticeable but not so much that it causes misses to the left which is an issue I have had with offset clubs. They look good and set up to the ball nicely. Best of all the cavity back provides enough help for someone like me that has a handicap in the teens while allowing for shaping the ball for those lower handicappers.
I'm a club junkie and have 3 sets of K-28 irons from the 60s and 70s, my Ci9s and now these. I play them all during the year and sort of wish these would have been named FG Tour K28s. I can say for sure that the FG Tour M3s will be my go to irons for the next few years.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Wilson Staff FG Tour M3 Irons
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great feel, sound & look ..

PostedOctober 19, 2015
Customer Avatar
by
from ft myers, fl
Age:55-65
Gender:male
just got a set of m3's & the balance was incredible right out of the box.
the ball sets up perfectly on the black matte finish that is dead bang on.
use a soft ball with these irons & feather a few to the green & you
will be in heaven. take my word for it. these people have been making balls & clubs since before I was born and it is a pleasure to play
with this kind of quality & craftsmanship .. clip a few off the turf with
these irons & you'll see what i'm saying.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Wilson Staff FG Tour M3 Irons
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Clubs

PostedMarch 7, 2015
Customer Avatar
by
Age:35-44
Gender:male
These clubs are very smooth to hit and are one of the best looking set of irons on the market. As a players iron they are very forgiving. If you are looking for distance these may not be the clubs for you as the lofts are not as strong as most other irons and the standard shaft length is a bit shorter than most. Most of the irons are at least 3 degrees less loft than competitors and half an inch shorter on the shaft. That is why people are losing distance with these clubs. It took me a few rounds to dial in the distance control but they are the most accurate set I have ever played with.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Wilson Staff FG Tour M3 Irons
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love this set

PostedJanuary 3, 2015
Customer Avatar
by
from NE Ohio
Age:45-54
Gender:female
I'm a woman in my 50's and just started to play golf 2-1/2 years ago. I started with a women's expensive 14 pc set. The set was good for a starter but after the first year and inconsistent hitting I started looking for an answer as to why. I bought a couple of big name men's wedges the 56 and 52 degree stiff flex and they changed my game. Shortly after that I went to my local Golf Store looking for a new set Irons. I tried different clubs for hours and left with the Wilson FG M3 set. I took 12 strokes off my game with these clubs and now shoot in the low 40's. The entire set is just a pleasure to use. My confidence is up 1000% using these clubs and lets be honest confidence is a big thing on the golf course. I don't second guess my shots or the yardage when using these clubs. I know what I can hit and go for it. Now I can go out and focus on playing the course and not worry about just hitting the ball. I still haven't used the long irons in the set much but will eventually get to them. I am getting to most greens in two shots and now just need to dial my game in. I wish I had two sets of these clubs one for home and one to travel with.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Wilson Staff FG Tour M3 Irons
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Lost distance with these irons

PostedJuly 9, 2014
Customer Avatar
by
from Houston, TX
Age:55-65
Gender:male
I bought these clubs a couple of weeks ago and they replaced Taylor Made Burner 2.0 irons. i have lost a full club in distance but the clubs have great feel and workability. I'm going to keep the irons and see if I can get the distance up by tweaking the swing a little bit but a little disappointing to lose so much yardage on each iron. The long irons are a little worse than the short irons in terms of distance.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-24points
2of 28voted this as helpful.
Read Comments (6)
1 2 next>>
Comments (6)
Customer Avatar
woofguy
Northwest
guywoof
Posted May 11, 2015
You don't need distance in your irons, you need feel and consistency, and accuracy. I'm in my 70's, drive further than ever before with the titanium drivers. You should like having shorter shooting irons. Who needs irons that all carry like an eight iron? I love the dialed up lofts.
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Customer Avatar
countiemountie
Alberta Canada
2.0 vrs m3
Posted March 24, 2015
I also have the burner 2.0 and purchased a set of Wilson staff m3 irons. yes the yardage is less but the Taylor Made irons have more upright lofts thru out the irons hence the longer distance. I find the m3 irons to be more accurate and consistent. I've hit both into a launch monitor and I prefer to be drawing and fading at will with accurate results rather than longer and off the mark. For tight courses, with lots of hazards, or smaller greens, go up a club for the distance and put from 5 feet rather than 20. Dropped 4 strokes in the first two games with these irons. Wilson is Back...
Images for this Comment
User submitted photo
+1point
1of 1voted this comment as helpful.
Customer Avatar
Ken c
Oc california.
Lost distance
Posted February 18, 2015
There are a couple reasons while you've lost distance over your TM's. First the lofts of the Wilson's are a bit truer than most distance irons. 1-3 degree difference will result in lost yards. Second the shaft in the wilson is a heavier shaft, which means you'll create less club head speed. Just a thought.
+2points
2of 2voted this comment as helpful.
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Check the specs!
Posted August 27, 2014
Just compare the lofts of the Wilson with the TM an d you'll find out that TM has such reduced lofts, i.e. a TM 8 iron is as strong lofted as a Wilson (or normal) 7 iron. So you didn't lost length at all.
+2points
2of 2voted this comment as helpful.
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Look at the specs dude.
Posted August 24, 2014
You didn't necessarily lose distance with these irons. The M3 7 iron has the exact same loft as the Burner 2.0 8 iron. The Taylormade Burner 2.0 has "jacked-up" iron lofts, so much that it is a full club in loft on certain irons. That's how they trick you into thinking you gain distance. Your Burner 2.0 8 iron is really a incorrectly marked 7 iron. The M3 irons are based more on traditional lofts specs, and offer greater distance control in the SW to 7 iron range.
+2points
2of 2voted this comment as helpful.
1 2 next>>
Comments (6)
Read Comments (6)
Review 11 for Wilson Staff FG Tour M3 Irons
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

fantastic irons

PostedJuly 2, 2014
Customer Avatar
by
from Griffith, IN
Age:18-24
Gender:male
I had these on my short irons list of this year just by the looks of them I knew I had to have them. I demoed these at my local PGA Super store and these are just out standing. Very forgiving for being a "better players" iron workability and distance is a premium in these top line is a little too thick for my taste but very slim compared against any game improvement. Do yourself a favour and do not sleep on Wilson Staff they are back and better than ever.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Wilson Staff FG Tour M3 Irons
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Classic Wilson look and feel

PostedJune 23, 2014
Customer Avatar
by
from Raleigh NC
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Purchased my new, custom fit, FG Tour M3 irons last month, a week prior to the annual Myrtle Beach trip. Had played Wilson Staff always until 4 years ago when I switched to another brand. These clubs are proof that I never should have strayed. Great look, great feel. The ball flight is very consistent. As a senior player they have just enough forgiveness. Shot shaping still very manageable. Love these clubs! Back with Wilson Staff for good.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Wilson Staff FG Tour M3 Irons
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Probably the best set of irons I've ever owned

PostedJune 8, 2014
Customer Avatar
by
from Seattle, WA
Age:35-44
Gender:male
I'm a 5 handicap and was looking for a set of forged irons with some game-improvement help. These were a no brainer for me. I tested them on the launch monitor and to my surprise as well as the salesman's, I was hitting the M3s half a club to a club longer than the Ping I25s even with weaker lofts. Had nice tight dispersion and of course the forged feel. Performance on the course was just as good. Can't go wrong here.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Wilson Staff FG Tour M3 Irons
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best Investment to Date

PostedMay 15, 2014
Customer Avatar
by
from Logan City, Queensland Australia
Age:45-54
Gender:male
I have recently purchased the FG Tour M3 full set of clubs and couldn't be happier. I have been hitting the FG62 Blades and am too inconsistent off my 16 handicap. The M3's are smooth and forgiving and although I have only had 3 rounds with these clubs I feel confident I will be playing off single figures within 6 months. Thankyou Wilson for making such high end clubs at such a reasonable price.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Wilson Staff FG Tour M3 Irons
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

LIKE A MARSHMELLOW!

PostedMay 10, 2014
Customer Avatar
by
from Lakeland, FL
Age:35-44
Gender:male
I am a 16 handicap and I have been using the Taylormade 2.0 Burner Irons for 4 years. I didn't like the way they felt. So I decided to try these forged cavity backs FG M3s out. I am not the most consistent ball striker so I was worried if they were going to be forgiving enough. When I first started hitting them at the range they were a bit tough. Middle through my practice I was getting use to them. The feel of this iron when flushed is amazing. I cant wait to try them on the course and hit an actual golf ball and not a range ball. I think I have made a great decision to switch to these irons. I think in time they will make me a much better golfer once I get use to them. I would highly recommend anyone that shoots in the 90s-high 80s to try these out, They are great for all handicaps in my opinion. Thank you Wilson for making a great product.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Wilson Staff FG Tour M3 Irons
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

The Best. Nothing else to say.

PostedApril 18, 2014
Customer Avatar
by
from Fort Wayne, Indiana
Age:25-34
Gender:male
I went to a demo day in Fort Wayne, Indiana. Reps from every major brand were there. I hit irons from every one of them. Every one. Three hours later, and hundreds of swings later, the FG Tour M3 irons blew away the competition. I'm a good, not a great golfer, and the feeling of hitting these were like hitting marshmallows. So soft. Yet the ball exploded off the face; high, glorious shots, with little side spin, save for a baby draw. I have played other brands for quite some time. Not anymore. I'm proud to say I'm a W/S guy now. Seriously.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Wilson Staff FG Tour M3 Irons
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

PostedFebruary 22, 2014
Customer Avatar
by
from CENTRAL QUEENSLAND AUSTRALIA
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Look 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Feel 
5 / 5
5 / 5
HAVE HAD THESE IRONS FOR 3 MONTHS NOW AND CAN ONLY SAY THAT THEY ARE AWESOME. THEY HAVE A REAL BALANCED FEEL ABOUT THEM AND OW SO SOFT WHEN HIT FLUSH BUT WHEN HIT NOT SO FLUSH THEY STILL PERFORM GREAT. THE ONLY FAULT IS THE BLACK COATING IS STARTING TO RUB OFF ALREADY BUT NOT TO WORRIED AS THEY MAKE UP FOR WITH AWESOME FEEL. LOVE THESE IRONS. 6 HANDICAP.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Read Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
THATGOLFGUY
Fort Wayne, IN
I love them
Posted May 27, 2014
I played the W/S D100 last year when they first came out and loved them but I then needed a forged iron so I went to the Titleist AP2 irons and absolutely hated them. After a little while I went to a demo day in Fort Wayne, IN and tried out the M3 irons only to find that they are amazing. I went from a good golfer with the D100 to a bad golfer with the AP2 and then finally to a great golfer with the FG tour M3. All in all, thank you W/S for saving my golf game and making golf fun again.
+1point
1of 1voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 18 for Wilson Staff FG Tour M3 Irons
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Can't Miss!!

PostedFebruary 20, 2014
Customer Avatar
by
from Washington
Age:25-34
Gender:male
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Look 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Feel 
5 / 5
5 / 5
If you want a forgiving players club then these are it. I couldn't miss hit things if I tried. Honestly I'm a blade/MB guy but these were the best clubs I've ever hit to date.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Wilson Staff FG Tour M3 Irons
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome look and feel

PostedFebruary 19, 2014
Customer Avatar
by
from Raleigh
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Look 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Feel 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Received my M3 Forged irons today, distance is about 5 yards more than my other set, feel is really soft, worked them both ways..
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Wilson Staff FG Tour M3 Irons
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

The Player's Iron You Must Hit

PostedFebruary 4, 2014
Customer Avatar
by
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Look 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Feel 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Just got my FG Tour M3 Irons and if you are in the market for a players forged iron with a lot of forgiveness you really need to hit these. I own the FG Tour V2's as well which is one of my favorite irons ever and still have a set as well. Love them. I was looking for something similiar in a forged iron but that had more forgiveness-in particular on mishits on the toe side. These are those irons. The M3 hit the ball a bit higher/further than the V2's and also are more forgiving than the V2. If you like the idea of a forgiving forged players iron with very nice distance, you need to test this iron out. I don't think there is a better all around iron out there. FWIW I am a 5 hdcp but don't think this iron needs to be excluded for higher handicaps at all due to its forgiveness.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.