Wilson Sporting Goods Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Wilson Sporting Goods
Shop or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for Wilson Staff FG Tour M3 Irons

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Wilson Sporting Goods.

Wilson Staff FG Tour M3 Irons

This compact head is loaded with the precision and feel of a blade, yet has the forgiveness of a game-improvement iron.  The latest forged irons from Wilson Staff - the new FG Tour M3 irons - provide a forgiving option for the Feel (F) player valuing precision and shot-shaping.
Average Customer Rating:
4.818 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(11 Reviews) 11
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 11 reviews
5 stars
10
4 stars
0
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
9 out of 10(90%)reviewers would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for Wilson Staff FG Tour M3 Irons
Review 1 for Wilson Staff FG Tour M3 Irons
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Lost distance with these irons

PostedJuly 9, 2014
Customer Avatar
byaswillia79
from Houston, TX
Age:55-65
Gender:male
I bought these clubs a couple of weeks ago and they replaced Taylor Made Burner 2.0 irons. i have lost a full club in distance but the clubs have great feel and workability. I'm going to keep the irons and see if I can get the distance up by tweaking the swing a little bit but a little disappointing to lose so much yardage on each iron. The long irons are a little worse than the short irons in terms of distance.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-10points
1of 12voted this as helpful.
Read Comments (3)
Comments (3)
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Check the specs!
Posted August 27, 2014
Just compare the lofts of the Wilson with the TM an d you'll find out that TM has such reduced lofts, i.e. a TM 8 iron is as strong lofted as a Wilson (or normal) 7 iron. So you didn't lost length at all.
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Look at the specs dude.
Posted August 24, 2014
You didn't necessarily lose distance with these irons. The M3 7 iron has the exact same loft as the Burner 2.0 8 iron. The Taylormade Burner 2.0 has "jacked-up" iron lofts, so much that it is a full club in loft on certain irons. That's how they trick you into thinking you gain distance. Your Burner 2.0 8 iron is really a incorrectly marked 7 iron. The M3 irons are based more on traditional lofts specs, and offer greater distance control in the SW to 7 iron range.
+1point
1of 1voted this comment as helpful.
Customer Avatar
Lefuler
Posted August 22, 2014
I play with Burner 2.0 irons and I wouldn't expect any club to be as long as them. Burner 2.0's are stupid long (almost too long for me) and this isn't even a distance iron. Apples to Oranges.
+1point
1of 1voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (3)
Read Comments (3)
Review 2 for Wilson Staff FG Tour M3 Irons
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

fantastic irons

PostedJuly 2, 2014
Customer Avatar
byShawn
from Griffith, IN
Age:18-24
Gender:male
I had these on my short irons list of this year just by the looks of them I knew I had to have them. I demoed these at my local PGA Super store and these are just out standing. Very forgiving for being a "better players" iron workability and distance is a premium in these top line is a little too thick for my taste but very slim compared against any game improvement. Do yourself a favour and do not sleep on Wilson Staff they are back and better than ever.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Wilson Staff FG Tour M3 Irons
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Classic Wilson look and feel

PostedJune 23, 2014
Customer Avatar
byDoc Hollywood
from Raleigh NC
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Purchased my new, custom fit, FG Tour M3 irons last month, a week prior to the annual Myrtle Beach trip. Had played Wilson Staff always until 4 years ago when I switched to another brand. These clubs are proof that I never should have strayed. Great look, great feel. The ball flight is very consistent. As a senior player they have just enough forgiveness. Shot shaping still very manageable. Love these clubs! Back with Wilson Staff for good.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Wilson Staff FG Tour M3 Irons
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Probably the best set of irons I've ever owned

PostedJune 8, 2014
Customer Avatar
byhandymn
from Seattle, WA
Age:35-44
Gender:male
I'm a 5 handicap and was looking for a set of forged irons with some game-improvement help. These were a no brainer for me. I tested them on the launch monitor and to my surprise as well as the salesman's, I was hitting the M3s half a club to a club longer than the Ping I25s even with weaker lofts. Had nice tight dispersion and of course the forged feel. Performance on the course was just as good. Can't go wrong here.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Wilson Staff FG Tour M3 Irons
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best Investment to Date

PostedMay 15, 2014
Customer Avatar
byWilsonFanMR
from Logan City, Queensland Australia
Age:45-54
Gender:male
I have recently purchased the FG Tour M3 full set of clubs and couldn't be happier. I have been hitting the FG62 Blades and am too inconsistent off my 16 handicap. The M3's are smooth and forgiving and although I have only had 3 rounds with these clubs I feel confident I will be playing off single figures within 6 months. Thankyou Wilson for making such high end clubs at such a reasonable price.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Wilson Staff FG Tour M3 Irons
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

LIKE A MARSHMELLOW!

PostedMay 10, 2014
Customer Avatar
bycpringer77
from Lakeland, FL
Age:35-44
Gender:male
I am a 16 handicap and I have been using the Taylormade 2.0 Burner Irons for 4 years. I didn't like the way they felt. So I decided to try these forged cavity backs FG M3s out. I am not the most consistent ball striker so I was worried if they were going to be forgiving enough. When I first started hitting them at the range they were a bit tough. Middle through my practice I was getting use to them. The feel of this iron when flushed is amazing. I cant wait to try them on the course and hit an actual golf ball and not a range ball. I think I have made a great decision to switch to these irons. I think in time they will make me a much better golfer once I get use to them. I would highly recommend anyone that shoots in the 90s-high 80s to try these out, They are great for all handicaps in my opinion. Thank you Wilson for making a great product.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Wilson Staff FG Tour M3 Irons
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

The Best. Nothing else to say.

PostedApril 18, 2014
Customer Avatar
byRockStahFW
from Fort Wayne, Indiana
Age:25-34
Gender:male
I went to a demo day in Fort Wayne, Indiana. Reps from every major brand were there. I hit irons from every one of them. Every one. Three hours later, and hundreds of swings later, the FG Tour M3 irons blew away the competition. I'm a good, not a great golfer, and the feeling of hitting these were like hitting marshmallows. So soft. Yet the ball exploded off the face; high, glorious shots, with little side spin, save for a baby draw. I have played other brands for quite some time. Not anymore. I'm proud to say I'm a W/S guy now. Seriously.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Wilson Staff FG Tour M3 Irons
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

PostedFebruary 22, 2014
Customer Avatar
byPUP
from CENTRAL QUEENSLAND AUSTRALIA
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Look 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Feel 
5 / 5
5 / 5
HAVE HAD THESE IRONS FOR 3 MONTHS NOW AND CAN ONLY SAY THAT THEY ARE AWESOME. THEY HAVE A REAL BALANCED FEEL ABOUT THEM AND OW SO SOFT WHEN HIT FLUSH BUT WHEN HIT NOT SO FLUSH THEY STILL PERFORM GREAT. THE ONLY FAULT IS THE BLACK COATING IS STARTING TO RUB OFF ALREADY BUT NOT TO WORRIED AS THEY MAKE UP FOR WITH AWESOME FEEL. LOVE THESE IRONS. 6 HANDICAP.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Read Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
THATGOLFGUY
Fort Wayne, IN
I love them
Posted May 27, 2014
I played the W/S D100 last year when they first came out and loved them but I then needed a forged iron so I went to the Titleist AP2 irons and absolutely hated them. After a little while I went to a demo day in Fort Wayne, IN and tried out the M3 irons only to find that they are amazing. I went from a good golfer with the D100 to a bad golfer with the AP2 and then finally to a great golfer with the FG tour M3. All in all, thank you W/S for saving my golf game and making golf fun again.
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 9 for Wilson Staff FG Tour M3 Irons
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Can't Miss!!

PostedFebruary 20, 2014
Customer Avatar
byBushey
from Washington
Age:25-34
Gender:male
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Look 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Feel 
5 / 5
5 / 5
If you want a forgiving players club then these are it. I couldn't miss hit things if I tried. Honestly I'm a blade/MB guy but these were the best clubs I've ever hit to date.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Wilson Staff FG Tour M3 Irons
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome look and feel

PostedFebruary 19, 2014
Customer Avatar
bySenoir Am player
from Raleigh
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Look 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Feel 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Received my M3 Forged irons today, distance is about 5 yards more than my other set, feel is really soft, worked them both ways..
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Wilson Staff FG Tour M3 Irons
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

The Player's Iron You Must Hit

PostedFebruary 4, 2014
Customer Avatar
byDD
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Look 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Feel 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Just got my FG Tour M3 Irons and if you are in the market for a players forged iron with a lot of forgiveness you really need to hit these. I own the FG Tour V2's as well which is one of my favorite irons ever and still have a set as well. Love them. I was looking for something similiar in a forged iron but that had more forgiveness-in particular on mishits on the toe side. These are those irons. The M3 hit the ball a bit higher/further than the V2's and also are more forgiving than the V2. If you like the idea of a forgiving forged players iron with very nice distance, you need to test this iron out. I don't think there is a better all around iron out there. FWIW I am a 5 hdcp but don't think this iron needs to be excluded for higher handicaps at all due to its forgiveness.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.