Wilson Sporting Goods Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Wilson Sporting Goods
Shop or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for Steam 99S

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Wilson Sporting Goods.

Steam 99S

The "modern game" is all about spin and Wilson understands spin like no other brand.  Steam rackets are engineered for hard-hitting players who use spin to curve the ball's flight and control the game.  Our revolutionary Spin Effect Technology is the first racket system that actually INCREASES the RPM of every shot by maximizing spin-enhancing string "snapback" during ball contact. 
Average Customer Rating:
5 out of 5
5
 out of 
5
(11 Reviews) 11
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 11 reviews
5 stars
11
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
10 out of 10(100%)reviewers would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for Steam 99S
Review 1 for Steam 99S
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

As Advertised plus

PostedJune 8, 2014
Customer Avatar
bySr. Player
from St. Augustine, FL
Age:55-65
Gender:male
As a senior player I am always looking for a stick that will allow me to shape my ball around the court. The 99S has brought this into my game and sacrificed nothing. My stroke patterns have not changed but my rpm's have increased and the heaviness of my shot has increased. Keep in mind slice stays lower as well as top comes down quicker.
I was worried that the Luxillon 4G would be tough on my arm but I have had zero issues. I have experimented and found that I go through other "normal" string quite quickly though -2 to 3 hours - so 4G it is. The added benefit being that I get more action with 4G as well as sufficient durability.
All in all this is THE stick for me.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Steam 99S
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best Racket In the World

PostedFebruary 20, 2014
Customer Avatar
byTopSpin
Age:Under 18
Gender:male
I have tested a few rackets and the steam 99s was by far the best.
I would recommend this to a friend!
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Steam 99S
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent Racket

PostedFebruary 13, 2014
Customer Avatar
byTone
Age:55-65
Gender:male
After many many years of playing with 6.2 Hammer, I realized that racket technology must have improved to the point I needed a new one. After trying many different rackets, I kept going back to Steam 99S. It has improved my game dramatically. Serves now have more kick and forehand and backhand shots can be hit much harder due to extra topspin. I would suggest anyone looking for a new racket to give this one a try.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Steam 99S
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Brilliant

PostedAugust 14, 2013
Customer Avatar
byAlex
from England
Age:Under 18
Gender:male
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Durability 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value for Price 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This Racket is a game changer, with this Racket you can hit harder and the ball will stay in play. It offers Good Power and Great Spin to your shots with a Good Weight and a unique string pattern. The only imperfection of the Racket is that because there are less strings and more movement, it allows the strings to loosen quicker than a Racket with more strings. However if you maintain the Racket properly it will perform Outstandingly. A Great choice for Intermediate to Advanced Players who like to hit hard and play with Topspin.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Steam 99S
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

la raqueta perfecta

PostedJune 26, 2013
Customer Avatar
byAnonymous
Age:25-34
Gender:male
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for Price 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Hace años que juego al tenis y la verdad esta raqueta tiene una tecnológica que potencio mi juego, era un jugador de golpes planos y con esta raqueta logre controlar mis golpes, y el slice patina el doble que antes, realmente recomiendo las raquetas con este patrón de encordado nuevo; La única contra que ya sabia al comprarla que me iba a pasar es que la durabilidad de la cuerda bajo mucho, igual se puede solucionar cambiando el grosor de la misma
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
4of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Steam 99S
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

It's a pretty good racquet.

PostedJune 21, 2013
Customer Avatar
byAnonymous
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for Price 
4 / 5
4 / 5
This racquet has an amazing amount of spin and power.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Steam 99S
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

My best raquet ever!!

PostedJune 6, 2013
Customer Avatar
byvvma
from Salta
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value for Price 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I play better than I use the Steam. It´s so good!!! Thanks Wilson!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Steam 99S
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

rotazione massima

PostedFebruary 24, 2013
Customer Avatar
byAnonymous
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for Price 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sono già possessore ed utilizzatore di altre versioni di racchette wilson e precisamente ho giocato con le wilson tour 95 (quelle che usava Henin) e con le pro staff 100. Ho avuto in prova questa racchetta e la trovo sbalorditiva: riesce a darti controllo (se adoperi un buon monofilamento almeno a 23 Kg, io adopero luxilon alu p) e potenza con rotazioni impressionanti. Riesci a servire con tutti i tagli che desideri e con una discreta precisione; ha il giusto peso ed una ottima maneggevolezza. Sono un over 60 - 4.3 e gioco da circa 30 anni almeno tre volte alla settimana.
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
2of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Steam 99S
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Nothing Like It

PostedFebruary 11, 2013
Customer Avatar
bymrog0628
from New Orleans, LA
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value for Price 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Well first off, for me this racquet is a cross between the Juice and the ProStaff. It has more pop like the Juice (though not quite as much) yet maintains a lot of control like the ProStaff. It's a stiffer frame than my ProStaff 6.1 95 but it definitely retains the AmpliFeel system. I find kick serves to be absolutely ridiculous with this frame. Top spin shots are heavier, slice is nice too. I feel quite connected at net with volleying and I think this frame does best with a full set of Luxilon 4G's strung between 50-55 lbs.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Steam 99S
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

full spin +big power + more control =new steam

PostedJanuary 31, 2013
Customer Avatar
byyashar
from karaj
Age:25-34
Gender:male
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Durability 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value for Price 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I know about all brands and all type of rackets but finally I found this racket with the best spin that ever seen and its have strong body and hevy stroke.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Steam 99S
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

best racket ever!

PostedJanuary 29, 2013
Customer Avatar
byAnonymous
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for Price 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This is by far one of the best rackets i have ever played with, it suits my play-style. I could generate more spin from this racket than any other racket i have played with and this racket is powerful. i had no issues with my slices and drop shots and the amount of top-spin you can generate from this racket is simply unbelievable. if you want a racket which offers great spin and power i highly recommend this racket.
+2points
6of 10voted this as helpful.
Read Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Old Pro
Los Angeles, CA
Doubted but not now
Posted July 29, 2013
I have played with the pro-staff in all is incarnations since the mid-80's. FInally I wanted a change. I have gotten older and having just read Connors book.. and how he regretted not changing racquets, as well as Sampras's recent comments I decided to try something extremely new...
I love it. It took a while but not as long as I thought it would to acclimate. My serve seems to be back to the way it was years ago and my groundstrokes were deep with a great deal of spin. I am now a believer on changing and updating to new tech.
I love this frame after only 2 weeks.
+1point
1of 1voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)