Wilson Sporting Goods Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Wilson Sporting Goods
Shop or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for Wilson Staff Zip Golf Balls

Wilson Staff Zip Golf Balls

The Zip golf ball delivers an amazing feel for players; it creates minimal spin off the tee while simultaneously producing maximum spin with short irons and wedges.
Average Customer Rating:
4.75 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(12 Reviews) 12
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 12 reviews
5 stars
10
4 stars
1
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
11 out of 11(100%)reviewers would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for Wilson Staff Zip Golf Balls
Review 1 for Wilson Staff Zip Golf Balls
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Incredible performance for the money

PostedAugust 27, 2014
Customer Avatar
bySingleDigit
from San Antonio
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Best feeling ball, I've hit, especially off the putter. Very consistent distance and roll out. If it would spin a little more off wedges it would be a 5/5.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Wilson Staff Zip Golf Balls
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Zip balls are best inexpensive balls

PostedJuly 23, 2014
Customer Avatar
bylooper80
from MN
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Shocked at the performance traits of these balls. They don't spin quite as much as Pro-V's, but they are long and spin better than any model of NXT's. Putt very true. Balance checked them and they are perfect. I'm hitting these as long as "distance balls". But I could not spin those distance balls at all. I can spin the Zips. When purchased online for store pickup, you get a 2 dozen pack for $14.99, if you just buy them off the shelf, they cost $5 more. Typical weird Walmart operation policies. But I won't complain too much, because even for 2 dozen at $20, it is a steal! I am extremely picky about golf balls. I don't understand why these balls are available at this cost. I have no intentions of playing any other balls than these. I got a late start on my golfing year, and could not shoot a decent score, due to having no chance to make the distance balls hold greens. Truthfully, I have not shot a round as high as any of my previous scores. if you understand handicaps, the handicap of my individual rounds have dropped by a margin of 30-40%.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Wilson Staff Zip Golf Balls
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Please read Jan./08/2014, by anonymous

PostedJuly 13, 2014
Customer Avatar
by1OldBlue
from Kary Mountain, N.Y.
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Just an update from Jan./08/2014' by Anonymous.
Recently I had an opportunity to play golf with 2 visitors at my Malone N.Y Golf Course. ( Great Course ! )
One player I noticed was playing a Wilson Zip golf ball, and as we continued to play I noticed that he was shooting a low score for the first nine holes. I was not keeping his score but observing pars and 2 birdies in a row, I knew it was close to par or under.
His ball was acting like the most expensive ball you could buy.
(Long,Biting on the greens etc.)
After nine holes I asked if he ever played the Wilson Zip golf ball before, his reply was no. He had recently picked up this golf ball near his home in Canada, and was pleased with the price he paid, but really surprised on the performance of this ball!
When I asked his score for the front nine, his reply was even par.
Remember now,this gentleman had never played this course before, summer conditions, and he is not a Pro.
Need we say more?
P.S. My wife loves this Zip golf ball and plays all her rounds with same.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Wilson Staff Zip Golf Balls
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great golf ball!!

PostedJune 19, 2014
Customer Avatar
byTBmindST8
from St. Petersburg, FL
Age:25-34
Gender:male
I love this golf ball. I recently tried them, initially for the price, but after a few holes I instantly fell in love! Great feel, distance, good spin, and it feels so smooth off the putter face. I highly recommend this ball and hope I can continue to find these in the future.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Wilson Staff Zip Golf Balls
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best ball for the money!

PostedFebruary 24, 2014
Customer Avatar
byWillKK
from Dallas, TX
Age:25-34
Gender:male
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Look 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Feel 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I've been using Wilson Staff products for years, and I have always loved them. Made my first par 4 eagle with a Wilson Zip this past weekend, and wanted to share. Please don't take this ball off the shelves yet! It has to be the best performance ball for the money. Looking forward to a few more seasons with the Zip.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Wilson Staff Zip Golf Balls
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Price, feel, distance. Just a great ball.

PostedJanuary 8, 2014
Customer Avatar
byAnonymous
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Look 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Feel 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Market packaging is perfect.
Price you can't beat in this day and age.
This is a premium ball!
Panhead dimple design is great-looking and plays well in the wind.
NOTE: I've played golf for 45 years and dozens of different golf balls during this time. None deserves more credit for its price + it's all around performance than this ZIP Golf ball.
Wilson and it's staff,please keep making this wonderful ball.
Advertise,Advertise,Advertise this Zip ball to the people and they will buy!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Wilson Staff Zip Golf Balls
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

First hole in one after 25 years

PostedSeptember 14, 2013
Customer Avatar
byyj
from bville wv
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Look 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Feel 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Kept looking for long soft ball that would stop but not spin off slanted green. got 2 skins in 2 day tournament then next weekend got first hole in one a 7 iron at 170yards went and bought 4 more dozen thanks wilson staff for most predictable ball I have ever played
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Wilson Staff Zip Golf Balls
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

A ball with great feel and distance, one I can rely on.

PostedApril 2, 2013
Customer Avatar
byTom
from Mesa, Arizona
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Look 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Feel 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I am 77 years old and my swing speed has slowed down, so I looked for a ball suited to my condition. I had been using a Precept Laddie which I liked, but could not find them any more. Another golfer suggested I try the WS ZIP, which I did. Even if I could find the Precept Laddie, I would not go back. The mental part of golf is extremely important, and I always have a good mental attitude when hitting this ball, knowing I can trust the results. Last fall I played in our club's "horserace" competition, partnered with a low handicapper in an alternate shot format. We used my ball. On the first par 5 he hit into the green and flew over by a good 15 yards. He told me he had never hit that particular club that far. I gave him a sleeve to try, and he is also a believer.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Wilson Staff Zip Golf Balls
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Two holes-in-one

PostedMarch 2, 2013
Customer Avatar
byTommy
from Nags Head, NC
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Look 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Feel 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Love me some Zips. Bought some Zips in Jan. The second day I played with them, I had a hole-in-one and shot my age (70). Today Mar 2nd, I had my 2nd hole-in-one with a Zip ball. No more expensive balls for me. I will always play the Wilson Staff Zips from now on.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Wilson Staff Zip Golf Balls
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Great value for two dozen, with a caveat...

PostedFebruary 1, 2013
Customer Avatar
byRex
from Ottawa, Canada
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Durability 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Look 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Feel 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Although a decent ball, be forewarned the ZIPs have changed!
The new ZIPs are now a 2 piece ball. The original ZIPs were 3 piece (zero compression core, HPF mantle & 312/302 flat-bottom dimpled ionomer cover). Old ZIP fans look to the C:25. I think W/S should be more clear on this fact.
I just wish they'd bring back the TX4 pro tour. Best ball I ever played, straight, long and incredible green-side spin.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Wilson Staff Zip Golf Balls
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best ball for the money

PostedOctober 24, 2012
Customer Avatar
byBig Joe
from Pgh, PA
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Look 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Feel 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Bought a double dozen at Walmart for <$20, less than $1 per pill - can't beat that. Played a round today at the course, and the drives off the tee were prodigious. I'm 46 and never had this distance at this course since I began playing in my early 20's. Ball is durable also. All phases of the game were on. I started playing the 50 elites earlier this year, but I think the Zip for me is the way to go. Wilson Staff - just keep making these now as an old line ball. Way back in the day, I played the TC2 ball..................another amazing ball. Too bad Staff doesn't get the press they used to.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Bubba
Texas
Zip Ball and Persimmon Woods
Posted December 7, 2012
Used Wilson Zip golf balls today with my Power Bilt woods. They worked very well. Felt good and sounded sweet when struck. Good distance and good control.
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 12 for Wilson Staff Zip Golf Balls
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

The perfect ball

PostedOctober 21, 2012
Customer Avatar
bysteve
from tacc
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Look 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Feel 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I like this ball, it reminds me of the older softer balls. I have lost no distance, and the spin around the greens is great. I am playing these better than the prov1& bridgestone, You need to try them.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.